CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Monaghan and Inniskeen Hurler Niall Arthur makes the Hurling-Shinty International Squad

October 5th, 2023

Monaghan and Inniskeen Hurler Niall Arthur makes the Hurling-Shinty International Squad

Ireland squad announced for Hurling-Shinty international v Scotland

There are 14 counties represented on the Ireland squad named today for the Hurling/ Shinty international against Scotland on Saturday, 21st October at Páirc Esler in Newry.

After an unavoidable hiatus due to COVID-19, the match will mark a momentous occasion for players as they return to the hybrid game for the first time since 2019.

The Ireland squad will be captained by Antrim and Cushendall star Neil McManus after his successful participation for the county in the Liam MacCarthy Cup this year.

Poc Fada star Cillian Kiely (Offaly), Ryan Mullaney (Laois) and Caolan Taggart (Down) were all previously involved in 2019, while Fionan Mackessy (Kerry) was part of the U21 panel in 2019.

The team is being managed by Damien Coleman from Galway, with an experienced backroom team of Kieran Kingston (Cork), Terence ‘Sambo’ McNaughton (Antrim) and Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny).

“We are delighted with our progress; we have a strong panel assembled for the Hurling-Shinty International with representation from 14 counties. It’s vital that we as an Association maintain our traditions, and this event affords hurlers from all tiers the opportunity to play together. The players are all looking forward, as are all our management team to October 21st when we welcome the Scotland team to Páirc Esler,” said manager Damien Coleman.

The Hurling/ Shinty international featuring Ireland against Scotland is on Saturday, 21st October at 2.45pm in Páirc Esler in Newry. The game will be shown live on the official TG4 YouTube channel.

Hurling Shinty International – Ireland Senior Team:

Niall Arthur, Iniskeen Grattans – Monaghan

Mickey Joe Egan, St Dominic’s – Roscommon

David Fitzgerald, Inagh-Kilnamona – Clare

Peter Duggan, Clooney-Quin – Clare

Andrew Gilsenan-Kavanagh, Barndarrig – Wicklow

Cillian Kiely, Kilcormac-Killoughey – Offaly

Eoghan Cahill, Birr – Offaly

Fionan Mackessy, St Brendan’s – Kerry

Luca McCusker, Maguiresbridge – Fermanagh

Neil McManus, Ruairí Óg, Cushendall – Antrim

Chris Nolan, Mount Leinster Rangers – Carlow

Ryan Mullaney, Castletown – Laois

Stephen Maher, Clough-Ballacolla – Laois

Paddy Purcell, Rathdowney-Errill – Laois

Enda Rowland, Abbeyleix – Laois

Caolan Taggart, Portaferry – Down

Padraig Walsh, Tullaroan – Kilkenny

Ger Millerick, Father O’Neill’s – Cork

Rob Downey, Glen Rovers – Cork

Tom Monaghan, Craughwell – Galway

Our Sponsors