CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

McKenna Cup Final

January 21st, 2020

Bank of Ireland Dr. McKenna Cup Final

Tyrone 0-11 Monaghan 1-5                                      18/1/20


Monaghan fell short in a scrappy Dr. McKenna Cup Final against holders Tyrone in Armagh on Saturday evening. A Monaghan side featuring nine changes from the previous round against Donegal, including a senior debut for Michael P O’Dowd, struggled for scores in a game where Tyrone never trailed. Ronan O’Neill and Darren McCurry hit seven points between them as Tyrone secured their eighth McKenna Cup in nine years, despite Barry McBennett netting a late goal for Monaghan.


Tyrone: N Morgan; HP McGeary, R McNamee; T McCann; M Cassidy, M O’Neill (0-1), C Quinn; C Cavanagh, C Grugan; C Meyler, D Mulgrew, K McGeary (Capt., 0-1); R O’Neill (0-4, 1f), F Burns (0-1), D Kerr (0-1).

Subs: D McCurry (0-3) for Mulgrew (inj., 24 mins), B McDonnell for Cavanagh (H-T), N Sludden for M O’Neill (53), N Kelly for McNamee (56).


Monaghan: C Forde; D Wylie, C Boyle, C Walshe; S Carey (0-2, 1f), R Wylie (Capt.), D Ward; N Kearns, B McBennett (1-0); M P O’Dowd, R McAlister, P Donnelly; P Keenan; K McEnaney, C McCarthy (0-3).

Subs: K Duffy for Walshe (inj., 4), D Malone for Donnelly (H-T), K O’Connell for Boyle (45), R McAnespie for O’Dowd (53), K Hughes for McEnaney (65).


Referee: C Branagan (Down).

Our Sponsors