• Back Where They All Belong LEADERBOARD

  • Investec - An experienced player in the market

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

IFC Preliminary Round reports

September 6th, 2019

McElvaney’s Waste & Recycling Intermediate Football Championship Preliminary Round

Magheracloone 4-16 Tyholland 3-9                        18/8/19


Magheracloone started the IFC with a high-scoring win over Tyholland in Carrickmacross. Magheracloone took an early lead through an Alan McCahey penalty, but with Brian McArdle and Ryan McKenna finding the net, Tyholland competed well for much of this preliminary-round tie. The sending-off of Dermot Coyle proved a major blow to Tyholland, however, as Magheracloone pulled away. James Ward, Michael Metzger and Tommy Freeman also scored goals for the Mitchells, who had 12 scorers in all.


Magheracloone: D Kirk (0-1, ’45); M Jones (0-1), P Ward (Capt.), P McArdle; J Ward (1-0), K Rudden, C McKeown (0-1); J Kieran (0-1), L Óg Murray; G Doogan (0-3), B Kieran, P McMahon (0-1); A McCahey (1-0, pen), M Metzger (1-3), T Freeman (1-2).

Subs: A Kieran (0-2) for Rudden (black card, 30 + 1 mins), R Farrelly for McCahey (43), N Marron (0-1) for B Kieran (inj., 54), J Donnelly for Freeman (60 + 5).


Tyholland: C Boyce; M McQuaid, S Connolly, P Coyle; J O’Boyle, R McNally, P Finnan; B McArdle (1-2), J McMahon; Seán Treanor, K O’Connell (0-1), Shane Treanor (Capt., 0-1); M Mooney, R McKenna (2-4, 1-0 pen, 0-4f), D Coyle (0-1f).

Subs: H Clancy for Mooney (49), C McDonagh for McNally (inj., 54), N Hamill for McMahon (60 + 3).


Referee: F Finnegan (Castleblayney).


McElvaney’s Waste & Recycling Intermediate Football Championship Preliminary Round

Monaghan Harps 0-18 Seán McDermotts 1-11                              18/8/19


Monaghan Harps started the IFC with a hard-earned win over Seán McDermotts in Scotstown. The Harps made the better start, but an Adam O’Driscoll goal capped a strong finish to the first half by the Seáns that saw them change ends a point up. The Harps rallied, with Liam Hahessy and Éimhín Morahan leading the scoring, to battle through, however.


Monaghan Harps: D Hannon; T Croarkin, A Óg McAnespie (Capt.), B Óg Ó Dufaigh; C Duffy, C Galligan, J Mulligan (0-1); S Driver, N Scott; D Fanning, É Morahan (0-7, 5f), S McMahon; L Hahessy (0-8, 4f), S Smyth (0-1), C McCrystal (0-1).

Subs: N McAdam for McCrystal, O Fagan for Duffy (both H-T), M Galligan for Mulligan (47 mins), L Power for Smyth (56), D Hahessy for McMahon (58), N Greenan for Fagan (black card, 60 + 2).


Seán McDermotts: S McElvaney; A Maguire, M McGuirk, J Murphy; N Rice, C Kearns, A McNally (0-2); B McQuaid (Capt., 0-1), N Kearns (0-1); É McQuillan, D McNally, P Kieran (0-2f); A O’Driscoll (1-4, 0-3f), J Treanor (0-1), D McEntee.

Subs: J Clerkin for McQuillan (33), P McGuirk for N Kearns (40).


Referee: P Caulfield (Blackhill).

Our Sponsors