CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Goals Galore For Grattans

September 15th, 2019

Goals Galore For Grattans

Gerry’s Prepared Veg. Under 13 Division 3 Championship Final.

Inniskeen 8-6

Tyholland 2-11

​On a beautiful September morning at Sarsfield Park in Aughnamullen, Inniskeen Grattans were crowned Under 13 Division 3 champions against a determined Tyholland side who fought valiantly throughout.
Ultimately the boys from South Monaghan were goal hungry and accumulated an eye opening 8 goals over the course of an exciting contest which experienced no shortage of goal-mouth action. The match was arguably decided approaching half time when Inniskeen annexed 3 goals in a blistering five minute period. 
The Inniskeen joint captain Conor Jones was a major catalyst in aiding his team’s victory scoring 3-3 and his direct running caused major problems to a gritty Tyholland defence. The boys in red and white did have their moments evidenced in a period between the 5th and 7th minute of the second half when they scored an unanswered 1-1 to leave 6 points between the sides. The hard working Dáithí Brady and team captain Aaron Treanor were particularly effective in this period. However, Inniskeen regained their composure for the remainder of the game and finished impressively to collect a well merited championship title.
Teams and Scorers:
Inniskeen: C. Mc Keown; D. Clarke, C. Dowdall; D. Meegan, J. Mc Ardle; M. Hanratty 1-0, 
C. Jones (Joint Capt.) 3-3; S. O’ Connor, JP. Meegan (Joint Capt.) 2-3 (2f); L. Monahan, O. Hand 1-0.
Subs: N. Quinn 1-0, D. Downey, T. O’ Rourke, D. Rooney.
Tyholland: J. Hughes; L. Tiernan, D. Clarke; S. Sherry, J. Gillanders; A. Treanor (Capt.) 0-3 (2f), Colin Sheridan;
D.  Brady 1-4 (2f), Callum Sheridan 0-2; D. Hughes 1-1 (1f), C. Brennan (1f).
Subs: D. Maguire, C. Duffy, C. Cassidy, T. Hughes, F. Hughes, S. Brimage, T. Treanor.
Referee: Christopher Brady.

Our Sponsors