CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Clan na Gael Crowned Division 3 Champions

September 22nd, 2019

Clan na Gael Crowned Division 3 Champions

Manor Farm U15 Division 3 Championship Final

Clan na Gael 10:22 Drumhowan 5:14

Blackhill was the venue for this eagerly awaited Championship Final between the two strongest teams in division 3 and the scene was set to see which was the best team.

Drumhowan got off to a perfect start with an early goal from Ciaran Keenan to settle their nerves. Clan na Gael responded with points from Joey McMahon and Cathal McCooey. Then the influential McMahon added a point and a goal to take the lead. From then on in the first half Clan na Gael stretched their lead, Gerard McGonnell playing at full forward was proving to be a handful scoring two goals and a point in quick succession with Drumhowan trying to keep in touch but they went in at half time thirteen points behind.

Coming out at the start of the second half Drumhowan threw everything at Clan na Gael scoring a couple of early goals and succeeded in cutting the deficit to five points. This was as close as they would come as Clan na Gael restored their dominance on proceeding’s and pulled away. Drumhowan never gave up with their tenacious tough tackling brand of football and fought to the final whistle but Clan na Gael proved too strong finishing with a score line of 10-22 to 5-14.

Impressive for Clan na Gael were Jamie Watters in goal with some fantastic shot stopping,Thomas McMahon in defense, Ciaran McBride in midfield and Joey McMahon and Josh Hannon in attack with some wonderful scores. Tom Dorothy, Tristan Duffy and Ciaran Keenan showed well for Drumhowan.

There were jubilant scenes as Garrett Coyle presented the Cup to Joey McMahon and Ciaran McBride completing the elusive League and Championship double.


Glan na Gael: J Watters, J Fox, C McCooey,C Sweeny, J McMahon (C), T McMahon,C McBride,T Mc Mahon, J Hannon, G McGonnell, M Murphy, S Kelly, K Hanratty, C McGivern, C Laverty, R Kelly, G Forde & S McCooey

Druim Shamhain: D Treanor, É Curran, C Curran, T Reilly, T Doherty, T Duffy, J Lavelle, K McAdam, C Keenan ( C ), P McGuirk, J Clarke, M Quinn, E McEntee,J Lavelle, J McEntee & E Treanor

Reiteoir: Raymond Malone

Our Sponsors