CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

McNally Cup Is En Route To Emyvale After A Historic Mallon’s Sausages U17 Division 1 Victory

August 21st, 2019

McNally Cup Is En Route To Emyvale After A Historic Mallon’s Sausages U17 Division 1 Victory

Mallon’s Sausages U17 Division 1 Final

Emyvale 0-16 Monaghan Harps 1-10

Referee: Stephen Hagan

The pre match chat among Emyvale supporters centred around when Emyvale last won an U17 (Then Minor)Division 1 title with the verdict that it was around 70 years ago(The O’Hanlon Cup!).The current Mc Nally Cup has been in circulation since 1955 with Donaghmoyne the inaugural winners and Emyvale who were yet to have their name engraved on it had their eyes on the 2019 title. Of course Monaghan Harps defending their Division 1 title would have something to say about that!

Despite showery conditions on Tuesday St Mellan’s pitch looked splendid ahead of this Mallon’s U17 decider.
The first half was a dynamic, energetic evenly matched affair as the sides traded scores going level twice. Free flowing football, quality all over the field and good match-ups in all positions were the order of the day with both sides fighting for possession and scores.
From the throw-in Monaghan Harps stated their intention with a point blank shot at the Emyvale keeper which he saved! Indeed it was Emyvale that pushed forward and opened their account with 2 frees converted by their inspirational captain Ben Ryan. At the other end the equally inspirational Eoghan Mc Ginnity opened Harp’s account in the 5th minute. Both sides traded scores as Rio Corrigan popped over another score for Emyvale with Tiarnán O’Rourke and Terence McDonald on target adding to Monaghan Harps tally putting the sides level for the first time on 0-3 each. This evenly matched display saw both defences pulling off some super blocks and turnovers making it difficult for the opposition to penetrate. Having gone level again in the 18th  minute the aforementioned clinical finisher McGinnity proved the difference between the sides in the 2nd quarter registering 4 points as opposed to Emyvale’s 2, although Emyvale were denied by the post a couple of times giving Harps a 2 point advantage at the interval.

Having witnessed free flowing football in the first half, the second half was a more edgy affair with both sides guilty of infringements and receiving cards. However, football won out! As in the opening exchanges of the first half it was Emyvale’s captain Ben Ryan who dug deep in the 4th and 5th minute respectively to level matters again on 0-07 each. With Emyvale now playing a more defensive game closely marshalling Harps’ key players and increasing their work rate they enjoyed a period of dominance outscoring Monaghan 0-7 to 0-2 stretching their lead 0-14 to 0-9. Eventually the now quieter Eoghan McGinnity added to Harps tally with another fine point in the 26th minute. On fulltime Harps got a lifeline as Dylan Ballantine converted a penalty, awarded following a fowl on the inspirational McGinnity to put the minimum between the sides and as the clock ticked into injury time Jake Hughes and Ben Ryan added 2 points to a fine Emyvale team display ensuring the 70 year drought was over as Emyvale were crowned the new U17 Division 1 Champions with the McNally Cup en route to Emyvale!
Commiserations to Monaghan Harps on a magnificent team performance.
Thanks to Gaeil Triúcha on hosting this final.

Teams & Scorers:

Scairbh Na gCaorach;

Ben Sherry,Conor Mulligan,Ryan Murphy,Darragh Sherry,Liam McKenna,Kelvin Hackett(0-1),Caolán McKenna,Alastair Stewart,Cameron Liddle,Michael Hamill(0-2),Rio Corrigan(0-1), Ben Ryan(Capt)(0-8),Aidan McKenna(0-2),Luke Kelly,Colm Colton,Jake Hughes(0-2),Matthew Corley,Harley McKenna,Declan McKenna, Dylan Sherry,Gary Treanor,Luke Cawley,Daithi McKenna,Mark Donohue & Karl Gallagher.

Cláirsigh Mhuineacháin:

Darragh Croarkin,Cathal Nally,Tiarnán O’Rourke (0-1),James Curley,Mark McManus,Liam Conway,James McKenny,Nathan Lavery,Dylan Ballantine(1-1),Dean Doherty (Capt), Eoghan McGinnity (0-6),Kevin Moran,Adam McGarry,Shay Cooney(0-1),Jake Power,Jason Allister,Jamie Coyle,Gary Devlin,Dylan McClave,Joshua Clerkin,Terence McDonald(0-1),Shea Swift,Josh Maguire & Fachtna MacConghail

Our Sponsors