CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Castleblayney retain SHC

August 11th, 2019

Castleblayney retain SHC

Silver Hill Farm Senior Hurling Championship Final

Castleblayney 1-20 Truagh 1-10                              5/8/19


Castleblayney won their third consecutive Monaghan SHC title when they saw off first-time finalists Truagh in Clontibret on Monday. Truagh got off to a confident start, with Aidan Coyle scoring an early goal and Éamonn Sheehan adding a brace of points, but Blayney retained their composure, with Fergal Rafter and Mark Treanor leading them into the game. Rafter led seven Blayney scorers with ten points, while Man of the Match Treanor contributed 1-4 from play, including a superb goal. Four points to the good at half-time (1-9 to 1-5), Blayney pushed on after the restart to claim their 16th county championship since 2000.


Castleblayney: P Murphy; D Crowe, J McHugh, E Leonard; B Connor, P Finnegan, C McNally; P Treanor (Capt., 0-1), M Treanor (1-4); F Rafter (0-10, 6f), B McGuigan (0-2), C Merrick; A Kerr (0-1), H Brennan (0-1), P Malone (0-1).

Subs: B Flanagan for McNally, D Irwin for Brennan (both 53 mins), N Garland for Kerr, J Lavelle for Connor (both 57), C Kerr for Merrick (60).


Truagh: N Slevin; K McGuirk, N Flood, G Mohan; C Treanor, D Tobin, S McClave; C Boyle (0-2, 1 ’65), M Flood (0-1); G Baxter, É Sheehan (0-3, 1f), P McKenna; C Flood (0-1), A Coyle (1-2), C McKenna (Capt.).

Subs: B McQuaid (0-1) for McClave (14), C Flynn for Baxter (35), D McCarron for Boyle (42), F McKenna for Treanor (51), D McAree for M Flood (52).


Referee: J O’Rourke (Monaghan Harps HC).


Our Sponsors