• GAA Healthy Clubs - Club recruitment is now open!

  • Win a Home in Lanzarote for just €75

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Emyvale Clinch A Win In A Ding Dong Battle

July 17th, 2019

Emyvale Clinch A Win In A Ding Dong Battle

Gerry’s Prepared Veg U-13 Division 6 Cup Final

 Emyvale 7-10 Inniskeen 7-04

All roads led to Drumhown last Saturday morning where, in a repeat of last year’s U13 Division 6 Shield Final,  Emyvale and Inniskeen played to see who will take the honours in this year’s U13 Division 6 encounter.

 Emyvale got the game off to a brilliant start and raced into an early lead with their midfield duo of Adam Treanor and Darragh Hughes feeding Harry Forde and Harry Hamill who kicked some brilliant scores. Inniskeen were slow to get into the game, but rallied before half time to narrow the gap to seven points with Emyvale leading 4-06 vs 3-02 at the break.

 Inniskeen were a different team in the second half and drove at Emyvale from the thrown in chipping away at the seven point lead. Emyvale’s defence for the most part held strong with Patrick Murphy & Shay Cawley impressing, however Inniskeen threatened a turnaround when they fired home several quick goals to lead for the first time in the game with about five minutes left on the clock. However Emyvale finished with a flourish with Darragh Mulligan scoring a wonder goal followed by two long range points from Harry Hamill & Matthew Swift to see Emyvale closing out the game with a six point margin of victory.

This was truly a team performance by Emyvale with every player playing their part to grind out a hard earned victory, but a huge word of appreciation must go to the Inniskeen team for their never say die attitude and every player played right to the final whistle. In front of a big crowd the Emyvale captain Patrick Mohan and vice-captain Patrick Murphy lift the cup on behalf of the Emyvale team, hopefully this will be the first of many for Emyvale in 2019.


Emyvale Team: Alex Deery, Patrick Murphy, Patrick Mohan (Captain), James McQuaid, Shay Cawley, Adam Treanor (1-0), Darragh Hughes (2-3), Evan McKenna, Harry Hamill (1-3), Darragh Mulligan (1-0), Harry Forde (2-3), Matthew Swift (0-1), Sean Treanor, Art Wood, Eoghan Campbell, Nathan Magnone.

Inniskeen: David Lennon, Tom O’Rourke, Ryan Meegan, Ryan Greene, Darragh Watters, Joseph McArdle, Mark Hanratty (JC), Shane O’Connor (JC), Conor McKeown, Ultan Monaghan & Cormac Lennon.

Subs: Conor Galligan, Anthing Rooney, Ronan Walsh, Charlie Ward, Paul Hoey, Liam Lawless, Darren Hoey, Oisin Murphy, Wayne Sheridan, Cillian Shields, Darragh Smith, Padraig O’Connor, Ben Byrne & Alex Pepper.

Our Sponsors