CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Previews (February 23-24)

February 23rd, 2019

Allianz National Football League Division One

Tyrone v Monaghan, Saturday, 7.00, Omagh


Monaghan and Tyrone will both be chasing a return to winning ways in the Allianz NFL Division One when they clash in Omagh on Saturday evening.

Monaghan kicked off with a good win over Dublin, only to lose out narrowly to both Roscommon and Galway. Meanwhile, Tyrone lost to high-flying Kerry and Mayo, before claiming their first point of the campaign by coming from behind to draw with Roscommon.

These neighbours, of course, had three close contests last year, with Monaghan winning in the league and Ulster championship, only to be pipped by Tyrone at the All-Ireland semi-final stage.

Malachy O’Rourke has named a team showing three changes, with Dessie Mone, Karl O’Connell and Neil McAdam in for Vincent Corey, Colin Walshe and the injured Fintan Kelly. Mickey Harte’s Tyrone selection also shows three changes, as Liam Rafferty, Richard Donnelly, Frank Burns replace Ciarán McLaughlin, Rory Brennan and Darren McCurry.


Tyrone: Niall Morgan; Liam Rafferty, Ronan McNamee, Michael McKernan; Tiernan McCann, Pádraig Hampsey, Ben McDonnell; Brian Kennedy, Richard Donnelly; Matthew Donnelly, Niall Sludden, Frank Burns; Cathal McShane, Peter Harte, Kieran McGeary.

Subs: Benny Gallen, Lee Brennan, Rory Brennan, Michael Cassidy, Kyle Coney, Connor McAliskey, Declan McClure, Aidan McCrory, Hugh Pat McGeary, Ciarán McLaughlin, Conor Meyler.


Monaghan: Rory Beggan; Kieran Duffy, Drew Wylie, Ryan Wylie; Dessie Mone, Barry Kerr, Karl O’Connell; Darren Hughes, Neil McAdam; Ryan McAnespie, Jack McCarron, Shane Carey; Dermot Malone, Conor McManus, Dessie Ward.

Subs: Shane Garland, Vincent Corey, Colm Lennon, James Mealiff, John McCarron, Gavin Doogan, Owen Duffy, Conor McCarthy, Micheál Bannigan, Stephen O’Hanlon, David Garland.


Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A

Monaghan v Lancashire, Sunday, 2.00, Inniskeen


Monaghan will be aiming for back-to-back wins in the Allianz NHL when they welcome Lancashire to Inniskeen on Sunday.

Monaghan hurling has been boosted recently by Castleblayney’s run to last Sunday’s All-Ireland Club JHC Final, where they fell just short, although that has had a short-term knock-on effect on the county team’s prospects in the league. Monaghan started their campaign with defeats against Armagh and Roscommon, but the return of several Blayney players helped them get off the mark in a thriller away to Tyrone last Sunday. Lancashire have yet to get their first points after losing to Armagh, Tyrone and Louth.

Trevor Hilliard has named a Monaghan team with five changes from round three, with Paddy Collins, Gareth Brennan, Cathal Power, Nathan Farrell and Shane McNally in for Patrick Bermingham, Pearse McKenna, Éamonn Collins, Conor Gernon and Cormac McNally. 2018 Division 3B winners Lancashire will need Ronan and Darren Crowley, Dáire Maskey and JJ Dunphy on form.


Monaghan: Paddy Collins; Gareth Brennan, Jamie Guinan, Colin Merrick; Stephen Lambe, Peter Treanor, Conor McKenna; Mark Treanor, Kevin Crawley; Cathal Power, Pádraig McGahon, Nathan Farrell; Shane McNally, Taidhg Campbell, Fergal Rafter (Capt.).

Subs: Niall Butler, Patrick Bermingham, Éamonn Collins, Emmet Walsh, Luke McKenna, Paddy Finnegan, Conor Gernon, Eoin Leonard, Pearse McKenna, Craig Callan, Paul Murphy.


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division One

Donegal v Monaghan, Sunday, 12.00, Letterkenny


Sunday also sees Monaghan’s senior ladies travel to Letterkenny to face Donegal for a game that is being played as part of a double-header with the hosts’ Allianz NFL game.

Monaghan’s first league game under new manager Niall Treanor saw them lose out to Westmeath, while they fell just short after an improved performance against Galway last time out. Ulster champions Donegal, who are managed by Maxi Curran, have made an impressive start to the year via wins over Dublin and Mayo.

Lisa Flynn comes in for Casey Treanor in the only change to a new-look Monaghan team needing big performances from Cora Courtney, Aoife, Ciara and Eimear McAnespie and Muireann Atkinson. The Donegal selection features two changes, with Tara Hegarty and Róisín Friel replacing Nicole Gordon and Shannon McGroddy. Karen Guthrie has been in fine form for Donegal, who will also be looking to Geraldine McLaughlin, Niamh Boyle, Katy Herron and Niamh Hegarty to lead the way.


Donegal: Aisling Nee; Tara Hegarty, Emer Gallagher, Niamh Carr; Treasa Doherty, Nicole McLaughlin, Niamh Boyle; Katy Herron, Megan Ryan; Róisín Friel, Niamh Hegarty, Amy Boyle-Carr; Geraldine McLaughlin, Karen Guthrie, Ciara Grant.


Monaghan: Bridín Tierney; Lisa Flynn, Niamh Kerr, Hannah McSkane; Sarah Boyd, Aoife McAnespie, Shauna Coyle; Muireann Atkinson, Rosemary Courtney; Chloe McBride, Cora Courtney (Capt.), Eimear McAnespie; Eva Woods, Leanne Maguire, Ciara McAnespie.



Our Sponsors