CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Monaghan exit McKenna Cup

January 10th, 2019

Bank of Ireland Dr. McKenna Cup Section B
Armagh 0-13 Monaghan 1-9                                   9/1/19

Monaghan exited the 2019 Dr. McKenna Cup when they fell to a narrow defeat away to Section B winners Armagh on Wednesday night.
A team showing ten changes from Sunday’s draw with St. Mary’s got off to a fine start in front of over 3,600 in slippy conditions at the Athletic Grounds, with Jack McCarron tucking away a third-minute penalty won by Stephen O’Hanlon. Points from McCarron and David Garland helped Monaghan lead by five points after 22 minutes, although a brace from Man of the Match Stefan Campbell helped Armagh to within three at half-time: 1-5 to 0-5.
Two points each from Aidan Forker and Niall Grimley helped Armagh edge ahead within seven minutes of the restart and the teams remained tightly matched for the remainder of the 70 minutes. Monaghan were restricted to scores from frees for much of the half, including a brace of trademark long-range efforts from Rory Beggan, although sub Vincent Corey managed an equaliser on 57 minutes. Moments later, Campbell swung over what proved to be the winner, with neither side able to add to their tallies. Armagh had sub Jamie Clarke sent off for a second booking late on, but Monaghan couldn’t turn it around to claim the win they needed to progress to Sunday’s semi-finals, where the Orchard County will face Donegal.

Armagh: B Hughes; A McKay, C Mackin, R Kennedy (0-1); M Shields (0-1), G McCabe, A Forker (0-2); S Sheridan (0-1), C Vernon; N Grimley (0-2f), R Grugan (0-1), J Óg Burns; R O’Neill (0-1), J Grugan, S Campbell (0-3).
Subs: J Clarke (0-1) for J Grugan (19 mins), J McElroy for Vernon (54), P Casey for Sheridan (67).

Monaghan: R Beggan (0-3f); John McCarron, C Boyle, K Duffy; J Mealiff, B Kerr, R Wylie; F Kelly, G Doogan; T Kerr (0-1f), D Freeman, D Malone; S O’Hanlon, Jack McCarron (1-3, 1-0 pen, 0-2f), D Garland (0-1).
Subs: V Corey (0-1) for Mealiff (H-T), O Duffy for Freeman (42), M Bannigan for T Kerr (55), D Wylie for Doogan, D Mone for John McCarron (both 61).

Referee: B Cassidy (Derry).

Our Sponsors