• Investec - An experienced player in the market

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Celtic Challenge Hurlers Eliminated at Quarter Final Stage

June 16th, 2018

Celtic Challenge Hurlers Eliminated at Quarter Final Stage

Monaghan 4-9 Sligo 2-20
Monaghan’s U17 Celtic Challenge hurling campaign came to an end following a defeat against Sligo at Páirc Sean Mac Diarmaida in Carrick-on-Shannon on Saturday evening last.
The conditions were cloudy and sunny with some wind, and Monaghan produced a battling display for three quarters of this game before falling away in the last 10 minutes.
The Farney’s first three scores were goals, with two from Darragh Cassidy and a third from Michael Maguire. This helped Monaghan to a six point lead after 14 minutes, 3-0 to 0-3.
Sligo’s influence however was increasing, and Thomas Cawley and Cahan Hallinan chipped over scores to eat into Monaghan’s lead. Mikey Carville was keeping the Orielmen’s lead intact with three frees, to leave the half time score Monaghan 3-3 Sligo 0-10.
Monaghan still lead by two points by the 35th minute, but a Fionn Connolly point brought Sligo level on 40 minutes. Monaghan took the lead again though with a brilliant 65 by the mercurial Mikey Carville, who also landed seven frees in the match.
It should be noted too that at the other end, Thomas Cawley was equally impressive for Sligo scoring eight points, all from frees.
With 15 minutes left to play however, Sligo took the lead through a goal by Fionn Connolly, and although Carville’s frees brought Monaghan back level with 10 minutes remaining, Fionn Moylan raised Sligo’s second green flag to finally put the game to bed.
Monaghan scored a fourth goal through Shane Slevin late on and battled to the end, but Sligo ran out winners by five points.
MONAGHAN: Niall Bermingham, David Brennan, Daniel Boyle, Caleb McArdle, Senan O’Brien, David Irwin, Ronan Boyle, Darragh Cassidy 2-0, Niall McKenna, Michael Maguire 1-0, Shane Slevin 1-1, Mikey Carville 0-8 (7f, 1 “65”), Darragh O’Callaghan, Emmett Walsh, James Slevin.
Subs: David Brennan for Daniel Boyle
SLIGO: Patrick O’Connor, Fergal Curran, Eoghan Rua McGowan, Paul Gallagher, Michael Munnelly, Liam O’Kelly Lynch, Fionn Connolly 1-3, Jim Davis, Cahan Hallinan 0-6, Thomas Cawley 0-8 (8f), Blaine Waters, Fionn Moylan 1-2, Fergal O’Kelly Lynch, Shane Molloy 0-1, Anthony Fidgeon.
Subs: Tola Carraway for Padraig McGowan, Donal Keavney for Fergal O’Kelly Lynch, Ethan Scully for Paul Gallagher.

Our Sponsors