CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Monaghan U15’s lose to Armagh with injury time goal

May 25th, 2018

Monaghan U15 Development Squad played out an absolute thriller with Armagh in sun drenched Crossmaglen on Saturday past. For the Ulster U15 Brian McLernon Cup, Monaghan are in a group with Armagh & Tyrone. So first up for the farney boys was Armagh, in a highlighly entertaining game with both teams producing some spells of great football, Armagh won on a scoreline of 4:11 to 2:15.

Armagh got off to a great start with Ciaran Donnelly & Ronan Fitzpatrick causing plenty of trouble for the Monaghan defence and established a two goal lead. To Monaghans credit, they clawed their way back into the game with some good forward play of their own, Conor Eccles (Cremartin) leading the line, and was assisted well by Micheal Hamill (Emyvale) and the introduction of Diarmuid Marron (Corduff). At half time the score was 2:05 a piece.

The second half saw Armagh get off to another quick start with another goal and point, but again Monaghan responded and took control of the game, leading for most of the second half until injury time. During this time Monaghan’s defence stood strong with Adam McSkeane (Inniskeen), Dylan Byrne (Magheracloone) , Jack McMenamin (Carrick) & Liam Conway (Monaghan Harps) all catching the eye. 4 minutes into injury time Armagh got a goal against the run of play, Monaghan to their credit battled away for the last minute to try and get a crucial goal but to no avail.

Credit must go to both teams in serving up a very entertaining and highly skilled game, Monaghan now play Tyrone this Saturday in Rooskey (Monaghan Harps) @ 11:15am.

Back Row – Left to right – Conor Fadian (Monaghan GAA), Joseph McDonnell (Kit Man – Doohamlet), Stephen O’Rourke (Carrick), Rio Corrigan (Emyvale), Liam Conway (Monaghan Harps), Shay Cooney (Monaghan Harps), Nathan Lavery (Monaghan Harps), Gavin McSkeane (Donaghmoyne), Darragh Croarkin (Monaghan Harps), Liam Martin (Donaghmoyne), Daniel McCaughey (Magheracloone), Diarmuid Marron (Corduff), Mark McPhillips (Scotstown), Luke Aughey (Emyvale), Conor Eccles (Cremartin), Martin McConnon (Selector- Magheracloone), Barry McKenna (Athletic Development Coach- Scotstown)

Front Row – Left to right – Allan O’Reilly (Inniskeen), Jack McMenimun (Carrick), Kian Clerkin (Clones), Thomas Keenan (Ballybay), Hugh Murnaghan (Donaghmoyne), Dylan Byrne (Magheracloone), Lewis McElwaine (Truagh), Hugh McDonald (Clones), Oran Maguire (Truagh), Micheal Hamill (Emyvale), Tiarnan O’Rourke (Monaghan Harps), Adam McSkeane (Inniskeen).

Our Sponsors