CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Monaghan win Shamrock Cup

February 19th, 2017

Monaghan win Shamrock Cup

Under-21 Shamrock Cup Final

Monaghan 2-15 Derry 2-9   


Monaghan won the Shamrock Cup for the first time since 2013 in an entertaining final against Derry in Cremartin on Sunday. The outstanding James Wilson hit 1-9 in the first half to hand Monaghan a 1-9 to 1-5 lead and with Francis Maguire also finding the net, Ciarán McBride’s charges stayed ahead through to the end. Derry got a goal back through substitute Cormac Quigley, but their attempt to rally was thwarted by some excellent goalkeeping by Shane Garland. Monaghan begin their defence of the Ulster U-21 FC title against Antrim in the preliminary round on March 8.


Monaghan: S Garland; R Berg, M Murnaghan (Capt.), C Lennon; J Daly, P Finnan (0-1), J Mealiff; S Woods, D McAlister; S McCabe, F Hanratty (0-1), S Finnegan; J Walshe, F Maguire (1-2), J Wilson (1-9, 1-3f).

Subs: B McGinn (0-1) for Walshe, N Kearns for Hanratty (both H-T), D Gleeson for McCabe (43 mins), R McDonald (0-1) for Finnegan, J McDonald for Maguire (both 53), A O’Driscoll for Wilson (60 + 1).


Derry: B McKinless; C Maunsell, O Duffin, C McGrogan (0-1); J Curran, N Keenan, D Curran; M McEvoy, P Kearney; P Hagan, R McElwee (0-3f), C Doherty (1-0); D Tallon, F Kearney, B Grant (0-5, 4f).

Subs: M McLaughlin for J Curran (inj., 20), T Flanagan for Doherty (H-T), C Feeney for F Kearney (40), C Quigley (1-0) for McElwee (50), F Kearney for D Curran (black card, 59).

Our Sponsors