CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

All-Ireland Club Ladies Final Preview

December 4th, 2016

All-Ireland Club Ladies Senior Football Championship Final

Donaghmoyne v Foxrock-Cabinteely, Sunday, 2.45, Parnell Park


Donaghmoyne ladies put their All-Ireland Club SFC title on the line in Sunday’s final against Dublin and Leinster champions Foxrock-Cabinteely at Parnell Park

Donaghmoyne won this title for a fourth time 12 months ago, getting the better of Mourneabbey in a well-contested final. After winning a 14th consecutive Monaghan championship in typically dominant fashion, Donaghmoyne eased past Armagh’s Clann Éireann to qualify for another Ulster final, where a win over Tyrone champions St. Macartan’s saw them clinch a tenth provincial title. Francie Coleman’s side then repeated their narrow win over the Cork challengers, this time at the semi-final stage, to move within one win of making it back-to-back All-Irelands for the first time.

Standing in their way this time are Foxrock-Cabinteely, who fell short against the Monaghan and Ulster champions in a 2015 semi-final. The Dublin club scaled the penultimate hurdle this time around when dumping Carnacon out.

Foxrock-Cabinteely can call on five-time All-Star Sinéad Goldrick, team captain Sarah Brophy and dangerous forwards Amy Ring, Amy Connolly and Anne-Marie Murphy, but a hugely experienced Donaghmoyne team features the likes of Cathriona McConnell, the Courtneys, Amanda Casey, Louise Kerley, Eileen McElroy and Linda Martin.



Donaghmoyne: Linda Martin; Joanne Geoghegan, Fiona Courtney, Áine McElroy; Hazel Kingham, Sharon Courtney, Joanne Courtney; Amanda Casey (Capt.), Cora Courtney; Cathriona McConnell, Eileen McElroy, Rosemary Courtney; Louise Kerley, Niamh Callan, Sandra McConnell.


Foxrock-Cabinteely: Laurie Ahern; Emma McDonagh, Niamh Collins, Sinéad Delahunty; Sinéad Goldrick, Ciara Ní Mhurchaidh, Lorna Fusciardi; Sarah Brophy (Capt.), Laura Nerney; Ciara O’Riordan, Anne-Marie Murphy, Niamh Ryan; Amy Ring, Fiona Claffey, Amy Connolly.

Our Sponsors