CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Donaghmoyne ladies retain All-Ireland

December 4th, 2016

All-Ireland Club Ladies Senior Football Championship Final

Donaghmoyne 2-9 Foxrock-Cabinteely 0-8                                     4/12/16


Donaghmoyne won their fifth All-Ireland Club Ladies SFC and made it back-to-back titles for the first time when they saw off the challenge of Foxrock-Cabinteely at Parnell Park on Sunday.

Donaghmoyne raced into an early lead, with Cathriona McConnell, Cora Courtney and Louise Kerley on target and top scorer McConnell pounced on a loose pass to score the opening goal and lead the holders to a 1-7 to 0-2 half-time lead. Kerley found the net for dominant Donaghmoyne and although the Dublin and Leinster champions fought back, with Amy Connolly and Anne-Marie Murphy hitting seven points between them, they failed to take any of the chances of the goals they needed to get back into contention.


Donaghmoyne: L Martin; J Geoghegan, F Courtney, Á McElroy; H Kingham, S Courtney, J Courtney; A Casey (Capt., 0-1), C Courtney (0-1); C McConnell (1-5, 0-2f), E McElroy, R Courtney; L Kerley (1-1), N Callan (0-1), A Keenan.

Subs: L Garland for Kingham (39 mins), S McConnell for Á McElroy (47), R Finnegan for Keenan (55), G Comiskey for Kerley (59).


Foxrock-Cabinteely: L Ahern; E McDonagh, N Collins, S Delahunty; S Goldrick, C Ní Mhurchadh, L Fusciardi; S Brophy (Capt.), L Nerney; C O’Riordan, AM Murphy (0-2), N Ryan; A Ring, F Claffey, A Connolly (0-5, 3f).

Subs: H O’Neill for Ring (28), C Crotty for Delahunty (36), C Murphy (0-1) for O’Riordan (46), T O’Sullivan for McDonagh (47), E O’Herlihy for Nerney (56).


Referee: G Carmody (Mayo).

Our Sponsors