CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

U16 Ulster Buncrana Cup Presentation

December 16th, 2016

U16 Ulster Buncrana Cup Presentation

On the 15th December, the successful Buncrana Cup winning team of 2016 were presented with their winner’s medals. This is a fantastic achievement for Monaghan football at underage level as we have now won this competition for three years in a row.


The night was opened up by MC for the night, Colin Malone (Games Development Officer). He introduced our speakers for the evening which included recently retired county player Dick Clerkin, our newly appointed Chairman Michael Owen McMahon and our Games Development Manager Paul O’Connor.


All the speakers on the night paid tribute to the fine achievements of this team, and placed a massive importance on the role of parents and families in the development of these young men.


The role played by the Management team of Paul O’Connor, Adrian Alford & Joe McDonnell in organising, coaching and mentoring these players did not go unnoticed either. In addition to this, the effort and work that has been put in by our Clubs & Schools was also highlighted. In total 17 clubs & 10 Secondary Schools were represented on the panel.Without the support of the County Board, the thriving success at this level over the past number of years could not be sustained.


Monaghan Coaching & Games would like to thank all who attended on the night, and made it an enjoyable occasion for all involved and wish everyone a Happy Christmas and peaceful New Year.

See below a photo of the victorous team and mentors.

Front row (L to R); Joe McDonnell (Kit Man & Doohamlet), Kian O’Connor (Castleblayney Faughs), Kieran Duffy (Aughnamullen) , Sean Treanor (Tyholland), Eoghan Treanor (Emyvale), Padriag Hughes (Latton), Aaron McGee (Captain/Aughnamllen), Liam Og Murray (Magheracloone Mitchells), Andrew Woods (Inniskeen) Cormac McKenna (Truagh), Tiernan Duffy (Aughnamullen), Paul O’ Connor (Games Manager)

Middle row (L to R); Adrian Alford (Coach/Clones), Shane Ford (Aughnamullen), Ryan O’Neill (Emyvale), Ryan O’Toole (Scotstown), Oisin McKenna (Sean McDermotts), Oisin Hamill (Aughnamullen), Padraig McGahon (Inniskeen), Tiernan McSkeane (Ballybay), Kieran Marron (Aughnamullen).

Top Row (L to R); Charlie Counihan (Ballybay) , Oisin O’Neill (Doohamlet), Tagdh Kirk O’Callaghan (Carrickmacross Emmetts), Craig Callan (Castleblayney Faughs), Pauric O’Brien (Rockcorry), Alan Curley (Killeevan), Conor McCrystal (Monaghan Harps), Conor McKeown (Magheracloone), Tiarnan McCourt (Carrickmacross Emmetts), Francis McGeough (Castleblayney Faughs), Darren Geoghan (Aughnamullen).

Missing from the photo are; James McCaughey (Donaghmoyne) Ryan Lynch (Rockcorry).


Our Sponsors