• Investec - An experienced player in the market

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Aghabog Notes

September 22nd, 2015

JFL: We lost to Eire Og by the narrowest of margins last Saturday evening in Aghabog. This was a game where we played well for periods but unfortunately Eire Og fought back from five points down early in the second half to win on a scoreline of Aghabog 1-15 Eire Og 1-16.


Fixture: We are due to play Toome at home this Sunday morning at 12:30pm.


Good luck: To Aaron ‘Harry’ McGorman in the Junior Football Championship Final this Sunday. We’re still not sure who Tony is cheering for though…


Ned’s Meadow: They say good things come to those who wait and so it has proved with Ned’s Meadow. It’s great to see work in full swing on our new field development. The fruits of the club’s efforts from running ‘Boogie in the Bog’ and other fundraising activities which are supported by people from near and far is now there for all to see. These fundraising activities together with our 2014 Sports Capital Grant of €70,000 mean we are now in a position, in our 125th year, to progress this project which is so vital to the future of our club.




U14 Championship: Aghabog 2-12 Corduff 2-09

Played in front of a large crowd last Saturday, the U14 girls claimed the championship title against tough opposition. Going in at half time 2 points down, the girls came out after the break determined to claim some silverware for the year but at one stage found themselves 7 points down. In a very physical game, the girls ‘never say die’ attitude was a factor in their comeback. The last 10 minutes of the game was completely dominated by the girls and they kept their supporters on a knife edge until the final whistle. It was just rewards for these girls who have been knocking on the door of success over the last 2 years and have finally got their prize. There were joyous scenes as the cup was presented to joint captains, Hannah McPhillips and Edel Quinn. All credit to the players and the management of Dermot Brady and Pascal McGorman for their commitment over the last year. Team: Claire McGorman, Orla Clerkin, Ciara Gleeson, Richael Cassidy, Edel Quinn, Aine McPhillips, Clianna McCarville, Megan Agnew, Emma McKoewn, Niamh Gallagher, Michaela Howell, Erin Gavan, Chloe O’Brien, Niamh Tierney, Katie Boyle, Kate Hawthorne, Rebecca O’Brien, Hannah McPhillips, Cara Clerkin, Niamh McCooey, Chloe Brady, Alicia Greenan, Katelyn McLoud, Emma Casey, Brenna Tierney, Claire McCullagh

Our Sponsors