CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

AHL Div 3 A Final

April 8th, 2015

AHL Div 3 A Final

Pic 3 Monaghan Hurling

Tyrone 0-18
Monaghan 1-11

Tyrone were crowned Division 3A champions followed a deserved four point success over Monaghan at Keady.

The Farney County capitalised on a slow start by their opponents to race into a four point lead but the Red Hands soon found their stride once Damian Casey got them off the mark in the 14th minute.

Casey won’t care to be reminded of a penalty he missed but he made amends just before half-time with a pointed free to give his side the lead for the first time, 0-6 to 0-5.

Monaghan’s Stephen Lambe struck for the game’s only goal early in the second-half but it failed to derail Tyrone as they proceeded to outscore their opponents by nine points to five in the time that remained.

The Farney County’s woes were compounded when they were reduced to 14 men late on.

Tyrone – J Devlin; C McNally, M O’Gorman, C Casey; P McHugh, D Begley, T Morgan; J Kelly (0-1), A Kelly (0-1); M Winters (0-2), D Casey (0-9, 5f, 1’65), C Cross (0-1); C Grogan (0-2), S Og Grogan, G Gilmore (0-2). Subs: M Grogan for C Casey, C Gallagher for G Gilmore, R Kelly for D Casey, D Marshall for M Winters.

Monaghan – K Hanniffy; K Crawley, P Treanor, B Flanagan; A Kenny, D Crowe, C McKenna; C Boyle, E MacSuibhne; N Garland (0-1), M Treanor, R Meegan (0-6f); F Rafter, S Lambe (1-4, 0-1f), M Murphy. Subs: T Forde for M Murphy, P Dowdall for C Boyle.

Our Sponsors