CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Hurlers win exciting relegation play-off

April 14th, 2013

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A relegation play-off

Monaghan 2-15 Tyrone 1-16                         14/4/13


Monaghan secured their NHL Division 3A status for 2014 with a hard-earned win over Tyrone in a dramatic relegation play-off at Breffni Park on Saturday. Monaghan trailed by eight points at half-time and were still five adrift well into the second half, but a late goal from Seán Leonard proved to be the winner for Monaghan, who also had the game’s top scorer in Mickey McHugh.

Damien Casey, Matthew Mulgrew and Marc Devine all caused problems for the Monaghan defence as Tyrone built up a sizable first-half lead with the wind at their backs. Monaghan’s first-half attacking efforts were restricted to two points from Mickey McHugh and one from Brian McGuigan. Mulgrew pounced for a goal just before the interval to send Tyrone in leading by 1-8 to 0-3, but Monaghan started the second half strongly. After Patrick Boyle had swapped points with Casey, McHugh scrambled home a goal to kick-start Monaghan’s challenge, which became very real when McHugh added the next three points (all from frees). Four of the next five points went to Tyrone, however, as Gary Fox, Devine, Casey and Mulgrew found their range, sandwiching of a solitary reply from McHugh. Tyrone were now five clear again inside the last 15 minutes, but a brace from McHugh, either side of another from Mulgrew, kept Monaghan in touch. Two in quick succession from Fergal Rafter, followed by another pair of points from McHugh, brought Monaghan level with five minutes left, before Conor McKenna briefly edged them ahead. Casey equalised for Tyrone, but Seán Leonard then rattled the net to hand Monaghan a crucial advantage as the finish line approached. Tyrone had a last-gasp chance from a free, but Casey’s effort went just over and Monaghan held on to maintain their place in Division 3A.


Monaghan: R McAteer; S McNally, S Leonard (1-0), S McLoughlin; J Lacey, K Crawley, P Hannon; T Hilliard, P Treanor (Capt.); C McKenna (0-1), P Boyle (0-1), M Murphy; F Rafter (0-2), M McHugh (1-10, 0-7f), B McGuigan (0-1).

Subs: G Ruddy, J Lacey, S McKenna, P Finnegan, N Adair, H Byrne, C Faul, P Dowdall, R McNally, S Loftus, J O’Rourke.


Tyrone: J Devine; C Cross, D Maguire, C McNally; A Kelly, S Donnelly, M Grogan; P McHugh, M Winters; S McKiver, D Casey (0-8, 5f), G Fox (0-1); M Mulgrew (1-4), S Óg Grogan, M Devine (0-3).


Referee: J Clarke (Cavan).

Our Sponsors