CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Latton Notes

April 16th, 2012

Latton GFC Notes – Week Beginning 16th April 2012


* Lotto
On Sunday 15th in Fitzpatricks bar Rockcorry, numbers drawn were: 20-2-22-19 Bonus No 17. No winner: €20 winners: Aine Kerr Ballybay, Philomena Coyle Latton, Kathleen Clifford Scotstown, Joey Clegg Rockcorry,  Geoegia Smyth c/o Liam’s . This weeks jackpot:€17,100.Draw will take place in the Maple bar Rockcorry.

* Senior Football V Magheracloone  On Wednesday evening 11th April  our senior team played Magheracloone in the first game of the league. A close game of football played in slippy conditions finished in a draw. Latton 1-12 Magheracloone 1-12.  Team: S.framer, K,Farrelly, E.Lennon, S.Fitzpatrick, K.Duffy, S,Mc Elroy 1pt, O.Coyle 2pts, A.Framer 1pt, O.Lennon, O.Duffy 3pts, D.O’Brien, D.Duffy, S.Coyle 1pt, T.Connolly, B.o’Brien 4pts. Sub: J Kingston, D, Mc Elroy 0-1.V Monaghan Harps We travelled to Monaghan last Sunday for our second league game despite dominating  possession at mid- field we failed to convert it into scores losing by 4pts Latton 1-5  Monaghan 0-12  We play  at home to Carrickmacross on Sunday 22th and away to Scotstown on wed evening 25th .

Committee Meeting

A meeting of the Executive Committee will take place Monday evening the 23th at 9 pm

U-8 & U 10

Training on Friday evening for all boys and girls from 6 to 7.  Any parents who are not getting text messages about training contact juvenile management.

Minor league

We played Emyvale on Tuesday evening 10th away, in a very enjoyable game of football the lads worked hard and held on to win by 1pt .Latton 2-11 Emyvale 1-13. We play away on Tuesday evening 24th against Cremartin

Pitch bookings

All pitch and dressing room bookings to be made with Kathleen Lynch. Phone no 087- 7904579. All team mentors please note.

Coaching & Development meeting

On Monday 23rd April at 8 o’clock County games development manager Paul o’ Connor will address all team managers adult & juvenile, The juvenile committee and club committee members are also asked to attend this very important meeting.

U 16

The lads had a great win away to Clontibert on Thursday last 12th, In a absorbing div 2 game Latton were losing by 5 pts early in the second half, the team worked hard to get back into the game  and deserved there 2 pt victory. Latton 2-13 Clontibert 2-11. Next game V-Toome on 26th at home. Training on Thursday evenings at 7 o’clock.

Gaa president’s awards

In honour of his great achievement in winning this award there will be a presentation to Tommy Bates in the GAA centre on Friday 20th April at 9 o’clock. The President’s award is the highest honour which can be achieved for service to the GAA, so everyone is invited to attend to honour a true gentleman.


We had a good win away to Clontibret  on Saturday 14th at 12 o’clock. Thank you to all parents who drove and came to support the team. Our next game is at home to Magheracloone on 1st May.  Training on Tuesday evenings at 6-30.



Cathaoirleach – Seamus Coyle (Chairman)

Leas-Cathaoirleach – Patrick Hamilton (Vice-Chairman)

Runai – Francis Ward (Secretary)

Leas-Runai – Ronan O’Brien & Kathleen Lynch (Asst. Secretaries)

Cisteoir – Paul Quinn & Ivan Fitzpatrick (Treasurers)

Oifigeach Caidreamh Poibli – Mark Hughes (P.R.O)

Cláraitheoir – Mickey Duffy (Registrar)

Oifigeach na nOg – Paddy Lynch (Youth Officer)

Oifigeach Forbartha – Michael Duffy (Development Officer)

Oifigeach Scór, Gaeilge & Cultúir – Niamh Quinn (also Designated Person)

Oifigeach Cosanta Leanaí – Martina McCabe (Childrens Officer)

Oifigeach ASAP – Packie Boyle (Abuse & Substance Prevention Officer)

Oifigeach Garchabhrach – Martina McCabe (First Aid Officer)

Oifigeach Oilúna – Martin Duffy (Coaching Officer)

Oifigeach Sóisialta – Brendan Fitzpatrick (Social Centre Bookings)

Oifigeach Arachais – Seamus Coyle (Insurance Officer)

Ionadaí Bhord an Chondae – Seamus McElroy (Co.Board Delegate)

Other Executive Members – John Nixon, Paddy Coyle, Francis O’Brien, Cathal Dempsey, Ken Farmer, Ruairí Ward.

Honorary Presidents: Fr.Tom Quigley, Fr.Gerry White, Tommy Bates, Ben McElroy, Sean Og Flood, Brian Dempsey, Mickey Duffy & Owenie Sullivan

Our Sponsors