• Lá na gClub Leaderboard

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Our Lady’s maintain unbeaten run in Mac Larnon Cup

November 26th, 2011

Our Lady’s 0:13

St. Pat’s Downpatrick 1:06

Our Lady’s Secondary School approached the final game of their group (Friday November 25th) knowing that at least a point would be enough to see them claim top position in Group B of the Mac Larnon Cup after 3 consecutive victories over St Paul’s Bessbrook, St Pius Magherfelt and Our Lady’s Knock.

On a windy day at a fine surface in Saval Co Down it was Knock who made the better start to the game with a well pointed free from midfielder Anthony Doherty from 45 metres. Our Lady’s then equalised with a score from Mark Mc Guirk after a good spell of play involving Michael Geehan and Kevin Mc Vicar. Our Lady’s then took the lead from another Mc Guirk score after he had been well placed from a short free from Fergal Rafter.  Knock levelled the scores once again with Sean O Reilly finding his range after a good run from Conor Mc Grady.  At this stage Our Lady’s now started to up the tempo of the game with the movement in their forwards creating openings for Niall Garland to hit consecutive scores to double his teams lead. Despite  Our Lady’s midfield of Mark Magee and Shaun Buckley continuing to dominate the play Our Lady’s received a temporary setback when a high delivery from Downpatrick’s Jack Maginn found Conor Mc Grady who sent the ball crashing to the net past a helpless Simon Atkinson.  However the Knock lead was short lived as Our Lady’s captain Shaun Buckley drove forward to hit two fine scores to send his team back in front. A further score from Barry Mc Ginn after good approach play from Shane Conlon and Ciaran Courtney increased the lead further before a Knock score from Sean O’ Reilly narrowed the gap once again. Our Lady’s captain Buckley hit his third score from play in the first half to leave his side in the ascendancy at half time on a score line of 0:09 to 1:03.

The second half was as equally competitive and entertaining as the first with both sides showing several glimpses of good play however it was Our Lady’s more economical use of possession up front that would see them maintain their lead to the end of the game. Our Lady’s hit the opening score of the second half with Shane Conlon driving forward to good effect and sending over. Knock continued to push forward and were rewarded for their efforts with two fine scores from Conor Mc Grady and an Anthony Doherty free.  Our Lady’s responded once again with a free from Mark Mc Guirk after he was fouled taking a return pass from Ciaran Courtney.  Mc Guirk increased Our Lady’s advantage further with another free this time for a foul on Barry Mc Ginn. With Our Lady’s defence standing firm and repelling attack after attack the best Knock could manage was a score from Shane Murray in the remaining ten minutes. Our Lady’s finished out the scoring with another score from play from Shaun Buckley to leave his side victorious at the final whistle on a scoreline of 0:13 to 1:06.

In a fine team effort Our Lady’s had good individual performances in defence from Fergal Rafter, Shane Conlon and Barry Hanratty. In midfield Shaun Buckley played a real captains part hitting four scores from play and driving his team forward at every opportunity. In attack Mark Mc Guirk again gave an exhibition of finishing receiving good support from Niall Garland and Ciaran Courtney.

For Knock Jack Bell and Adam Corrigan caught the eye in defence. In midfield Anthony Doherty hit several fine scores while up front Sean O Reilly and Conor Mc Grady tested the Our Lady’s rearguard at every opportunity.

Our Lady’s: Simon Atkinson, Barry Hanratty, Jason Murphy, Fergal Mc Geough, Shane Conlon 0:01, Fergal Rafter, Kevin Mc Vicar, Mark Magee, Shaun Buckley 0:04, Ciaran Courtney, Michael Geehan, Niall Garland, Mark MC Guirk 0:05, Joe Finnegan, Barry Mc Ginn 0:01.

Subs used: Davin Mc Mahon, Aaron Mc Namara

St. Pat’s Downpatrick: Rory Mullen,Ruairi Wells, Declan Turley, Jack Bell, Peter Cochrane, Paul Gilchrist, Adam Corrigan, Anthony Doherty 0:02, Cathail Arnold, Sean O Reilly 0:02, Sean Morgan, Shane Murray 0:01, Jack Maginn, Conor Mc Grady 1:01, Matthew Hardy.

Our Sponsors