CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Magheracloone Notes

September 27th, 2011

Magheracloone G.A.A.



Lotto Next week’s Lotto Jackpot will be 8,500 euro for any lucky player that can match all four numbers.

The numbers drawn in this week’s Lotto were 2, 4, 9 and 22. The Jackpot was not won. The following four players collected fifty euro each in the Lucky Dip draw…Aisling Gargan, c/o The Wishing Well, Edel Byrne, Magheracloone, Philip and Margaret McCabe, Magheracloone and P.J. Halpin, Shercock.


Seniors. The semi final of the senior championship ended in disappointment for Magheracloone on Friday evening last when the team went down to Scotstown by the narrowest of margins. Despite playing some good football in both halves, Magheracloone came up short at the final whistle. Magheracloone will rue some missed chances at crucial stages of the game which proved vital in the final analysis. Margins in both semi finals were only one point so the difference between winning and losing is very little. Despite losing some vital players to injury and emigration at different parts of the season, this panel of players has performed to a high standard during the year and it is hoped that they can still lift some silverware before the end of the season.


U-16 Final. Congratulations to the Magheracloone U-16 team on capturing the Division 2 Championship in Inniskeen on Tuesday evening. The replayed final ended level once again and it was only in extra time that Magheracloone pulled ahead against a very strong Donaghmoyne outfit. The final score read Magheracloone 2-15 to Donaghmoyne’s 1-15. The game was hard-fought throughout and in the extra period Magheracloone finished the stronger team and claimed the silverware.

The Magheracloone minors and U-16 teams have performed to an exceptionally high standard this year and members of both teams will have their eyes on places on the senior team in the next few years.

For the record the winning Magheracloone team on Tuesday evening included: Mitchell Tuite, Patrick Duffy, Richard Merrin, James Lambe, Michael Metzger, Oisin Conroy, Sean McClory, Paudie Kirk, Alan Kieran, David Byrne, Ciaran McClory, Alan McCahey, Sean Marron, Conor Marron, Padraig McConnon, Cian Conroy, Jason Goodman.

Congratulations are also due to the team mentors: Declan McCahey, John McClory, Gerry Jones and James Kieran who put in many hours as coaches for this group of players.


Our Sponsors