CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

2011 Monaghan Championships Draw

January 27th, 2011

The draws for the 2011 Monaghan championships were made at the last County Board meeting.

In the Senior Football Championship, there was a sense of déjà vu with the preliminary round pitting the same four teams against each other for the second year in a row, as Monaghan Harps take on Ballybay while last year’s runners-up Magheracloone face Truagh. Clontibret start their bid for a third county title in a row and a fifth in six years against newly-promoted Inniskeen, while the other promoted team, Doohamlet, who won last year’s IFC, were drawn against Latton. Probably the pick of the first-round games is the latest clash of old rivals Castleblayney and Scotstown.

In the Intermediate Football Championship, Currin and Rockcorry will meet in the preliminary round again, like in 2010, with the winners playing the victors of the other preliminary-round game between Drumhowan and Aughnamullen. Last year’s beaten finalists Tyholland are involved in the tie of the round against Donaghmoyne, while 2010 JFC winners Corduff will play Éire Óg and JFL winners Seán McDermotts face a big step-up against Carrickmacross, who drop to intermediate level for the first time since they won the IFC in 2006.

The Junior Football Championship threw up a local derby between Clones and Killeevan in the preliminary round, as well as a meeting of Aghabog and Oram. In the first round, 2008 Ulster JFC winners Emyvale have been paired with Blackhill, while Killanny challenge Toome and Cremartin play Fergal O’Hanlons.

In the Senior Hurling Championship, the preliminary round sees Monaghan Harps play Truagh for the second year in a row, with Clontibret up against Carrickmacross. Defending champions Inniskeen got a bye to the semi-finals, as did Castleblayney, who will be attempting to win back the title which they held for the previous six years.



Monaghan Championship Draws 2011:

Senior Football Championship

Preliminary Round:

A. Ballybay v Monaghan Harps        

B. Magheracloone v Truagh

First Round:

Doohamlet v Latton

Clontibret v Inniskeen                       

Castleblayney v Scotstown    

Winners A v Winners B

Intermediate Football Championship

Preliminary Round:

A. Aughnamullen v Drumhowan

B. Currin v Rockcorry

First Round:

Corduff v Éire Óg

Donaghmoyne v Tyholland

Carrickmacross v Seán McDermotts              

Winners A v Winners B

Junior Football Championship

Preliminary Round:

A. Aghabog v Oram

B. Clones v Killeevan

First Round:

Killanny v Toome

Cremartin v Fergal O’Hanlons           

Blackhill v Emyvale

Winners A v Winners B

Senior Hurling Championship

Preliminary Round:

Carrickmacross v Clontibret

Monaghan Harps v Truagh


Inniskeen & Castleblayney plus Winners of Preliminary Rounds



Our Sponsors