CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Ballybay advance to meeting with Scotstown

August 26th, 2018

Ballybay advance to meeting with  Scotstown


Ballybay 1-19, Magheracloone 2-9.

Ballybay’s superior firepower ultimately proved the difference in this keenly contested encounter in Clontibret yesterday with former County star Paul Finlay, along with current county man, Dessie Ward leading the charge with 6 points apiece.

Ballybay got off to much the better start and led by 4 points to one after 12 minutes with Magheracloone then striking for a goal from Alan Kieran, to level the match. The sides were level on 2 further occasions before points by Dessie Ward and Paul Finlay from a free restored Ballybay to a 2 points lead on the half-hour, but Magheracloone struck for a 2nd goal, this time Paudie McMahon applying the finish, to send them in leading by one at the break on a half-time score Magheracloone 2-3, Ballybay 0-8.

The sides exchanged points in the opening minute of the second-half but Ballybay then took an increasing grip on proceedings to reel off 5 unanswered points between the 4th and 12th minutes, Dessie Ward with 3, Christopher McGuinness and Shane McGuinness with one each, to put Ballybay 4 points in front. Magheracloone reduced the deficit to 3 entering the final quarter but Ballybay then struck for a decisive goal from Shane McGuinness, to give them a 6 points lead. Magheracloone battled to the finish and went in search of a goal that might help them salvage the situation but Ballybay held out and 3 late points from Paul Finlay, substitute Aaron Toner and Dessie Ward sealed victory.

Teams and Scorers: Ballybay: B McCabe, E McKearney, R Wylie, B Wylie, M McArdle, D Wylie, C Lennon, C Galligan 0-2, T Kerr, D Ward 0-6, S McGuinness 1-2, S McQuillan, P Finlay 0-6 (5f), C McGuinness 0-1, M Hannon 0-1. Subs: A Dixon for M McArdle, A Toner 0-1 for M Hannon, T O’Neill for S McGuinness, M Ward for A Dixon.

Magheracloone: J Kirk, M Jones, P Ward, J Lambe 0-1, P Lambe, J Ward, J McMahon, G Doogan 0-1, J Kieran, P McMahon 1-1, P Tuite, D Babbington, A Kieran 1-1, L Murray, A McCahey 0-5 (4f). Subs: B Kieran for D Babbington, C McKeown for M Jones, D Kirk for P Tuite. Referee: B McNally (Cremartin).

Our Sponsors