CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Donaghmoyne edge IFC Final

October 16th, 2016

padraig-donaghy-barney-kelly-raise-the-ifc-trophy-high-as-donaghmoyne-are-crowned-2016-championsMcElvaney Waste & Recycling Intermediate Football Championship Final

Donaghmoyne 0-10 Rockcorry 1-6                                      16/10/16

Donaghmoyne won their first IFC since 1996 with a hard-earned win over Rockcorry in the final at a wet and windy Clontibret on Sunday. Donaghmoyne recovered from conceding a goal to Fergal McGeough on 12 minutes to lead by 0-6 to 1-2 at half-time, helped by three points from David Garland. Two points at the start of the final quarter from Man of the Match Ronan McDonald kept Donaghmoyne ahead and there was just one single score in the last ten minutes plus added time – a ’45 by Rock goalkeeper Jamie Smith – meaning the Fontenoys won this title for the fourth time. Donaghmoyne held out under late pressure to ensure that a brave effort by first-time IFC finalists and last year’s junior champions fell just short.


Donaghmoyne: S Garland; F Keenan, M Murnaghan, C Deery (0-1); C Coleman, S Kelly, B Kelly; F Markey, N Keenan; D Coleman, P Donaghy (Capt., 0-1), S Finnegan (0-2); R McDonald (0-3, 2f), S McElroy, D Garland (0-3, 1f).

Subs: N Garland for D Coleman (inj., 30 mins), D McElroy for N Keenan (37), S Markey for S McElroy (60).


Rockcorry: J Smith (0-1, ’45); N McKeown, A McPhillips, C Quinn; C McGeough, K Daly, L Smyth; M Daly (Capt., 0-2f), M Thornton; M Carroll, N Carroll, P McKeown (0-2); A McGorman, F McGeough (1-1, 0-1f), M McGuirk.

Subs: A Tate for McGorman (53), C Sheridan for M Carroll (55).


Referee: C Mulligan (Aghabog).


Our Sponsors