CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Update on Monaghan Football Development Squads

June 21st, 2023

Update on Monaghan Football Development Squads

Monaghan vs Dublin Buncranna Cup

On Saturday 10th June Monaghan U16s Development squad played Dublin in round 3 of the Buncranna Cup in Clontibret O Neills played in perfect conditions. Both teams had a fair majority of the ball in the opening 10 minutes before Monaghan started to get to grips with the game. Monaghan defence stood tall on several occasions and turned over plenty of possession. The halftime score was Monaghan 0 – 6 – Dublin 0 – 3.

Monaghan started the 2nd half sharply kicking some great scores from distance. A goal mid-way through the 2nd half extended Monaghan’s advantage. Dublin found form in the final quarter of the 2nd half and punished Monaghan hitting 3 gaols to eventually win by the slightest of margins. The final scoreline was Monaghan 1 – 12 – Dublin 3 – 7.

The next competitive fixture for this group is Saturday 8th of July and then finals to be played on 12th August.  Who we play is yet to be confirmed.

Monaghan Team:

Ben Forde – Sean Mc Dermotts Stephen Hamill – Clontibret, Charlie Mone – Clontibret Alfie Hughes – Castleblayney, Martin Quinn – Drumhowan Cian Rafferty – Corduff, Killian Kierans – Currin, Conor Mc Anenly – Truagh, Mark Lynch – Mon Harps, Daniel Boylan – Clontibret, Mark Mc Caffrey – Scotstown, Shay Cauley- Emyvale, Noah Mc Ginty – Eire Og, Dylan Watters – Oram, Oisin Mc Connon – Maghercloone, Eoin Sherdian – Mon Harps, Shea Corrigan – Mon Harps, Jack Sullivan – Clontibret, Simon du Plessis – Ballybay, James Mc Kenna – Sean Mc Dermotts, Oisin Lynch – Killeevan, Joe O Farrell – Carrickmacross, Senan Carolan – Aghabog, Luke Mc Kenna – Truagh, Senan Hanratty – Castleblayney, Shane Clerkin – Truagh.


Monaghan U15 Development Squad V Down

Saturday 17th June saw our U15 Football team travel up to Burren to play Down in the rescheduled fixture. With both Monaghan teams performing well over the past 2 games all players gave a great account of themselves.

In the Monaghan game, our lads battled well from the start and controlled the game when needed leading at the break 3-3 to 0-7. Down came out fighting in the 2nd half but thankfully we were able to add a further 1-3 to our score. Mistakes in our attack helped Down counter and they brought the game to within 3 points before the final whistle blew. 3 wins out of 3 with a score line of 4-6 to 1-12.

An Mhuinechain competed in a tight, exciting game of football played in great spirit. Playing against a strong breeze in the first half, An Mhuinechain trailed by 2 points at half time in a first half that showed great resilience and a super defensive effort. With the wind at their back in the second half, An Mhuineachain took control of the game leading by 2 points with a minute of the game to go. Missed opportunities were to prove costly however with Down scoring a goal with the last kick of the game sealing a win on a scoreline of 1-12 to 1-11.

This now means that Monaghan will play at home in their semi final with the An Mhuineachain team travelling away from home in their semi final. Both fixtures will take place on Saturday 8th July with opposition, times and venues to be confirmed.

Liam Mulholland – Carrickmacross, Conor Farmer – Monaghan Harps, Conor Mulligan – Aughnamullen, Matthew McNamee – Clontibret
Jamie Marron – Magheracloone, Stephen Cusack – Aghabog, Nathan McCabe – Scotstown, Ryan Walsh – Killanny, Calum Calvert – Rockcorry, Sean Murtagh – Aughnamullen, Oran Connolly – Killanny, Gearoid Murray – Magheracloone, Dermot Farrelly – Magheracloone, Tristan Nugent – Castleblayney, Cathal Malone – Castleblayney.

Cillian Gibbons – Cremartin, Sean Ward – Sean’s, Adam Treanor – Emyvale, TJ Fox – Rockcorry, Seàn Meegan – Donaghmoyne, Joseph Routledge – Killanny.


Donnchadh Murphy – Castleblayney, Móchara Lynch – Rockcorry, Conor McEneaney – Cremartin, Declan Flanagan – Castleblayney
Tiernan McGeough – Castleblayney, Shane Geoghegan – Aughnamullen, Caolan Daly – Aughnamullen, Harry McQuillan – Castleblayney
Shane Sherry – Tyholland, Matt McNally – Aughnamullen, Josh Cassidy – Monaghan Harps, Harry Hamill – Emyvale, Patrick Carroll – Cremartin, James Ennis – Donaghmoyne, Ryan Lynch – Oram.

Artán Mac Pháidín – Carrickmacross, Ronan Keenan – Oram, Jay Martin – Killanny, Ellis Foy – Scotstown, Eddie Jones – Carrickmacross
Ronan Goodman – Killanny, John Lennon – Donaghmoyne.

Our Sponsors