CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Monaghan Football Development Squads conclude for 2021

December 21st, 2021

Monaghan Football Development Squads conclude for 2021

Over the past couple of months, Monaghan Football Development Squads have been busy training and playing challenege matches against neighbouring counties at U14 and U15 level.

Our U14 Football Development Squad had the pleasure of travelling to the GAA National Games Development Centre in Abbotstown to play in an inter-county blitz against Louth and Waterford. We had 4 teams on the day meaning that 60 players got to play a full game each. Monaghan had two comfortable wins against both Waterford sides but unfortunately came out on the wrong side of the result against two strong Louth teams after two tight and thrilling games. It was a great experience for the players to play at such a high quality facility and we would like to thank Leinster GAA for organising the blitz.

Our U15 Development Squad played their first game against Cavan at the Entekra Monaghan GAA Centre of Excellence in Cloghan during the Halloween mid-term break. Monaghan proved too strong for their opponents in both games on the day with the players putting in a great display on their first time wearing the Monaghan jersey. On Friday, 17th November, we made the short journey to the Louth GAA Centre of Excellence to play in two games against the hosts. Both teams put in a battling performance against two well-drilled Louth sides with one win and one loss in the two games on the night. A week later, the U15 squad played host to Donegal in Cloghan with cold and windy conditions making it very difficult for the players, with Donegal coming out on top in both games.

Monaghan Coaching and Games would like to thank all the players and parents for all the effort throughout the year.

A big thank you also to U14 Squad Manager Dick Clerkin (Currin), Monaghan GAA Athletic Development Coach Barry McKenna (Scotstown) and Strength & Conditioning interns Muireann Atkinson (Cremartin), Donal Caraher (Clontibret) and Ross Lowey (Clontibret) for their hard work and dedication with the squad over the past few motnhs.

We would like to take this opportunity to wish everyone involved with our Football Development Squads a safe and happy Christmas and we look forward to getting started again in the New Year.

U14 Squad vs Louth & Waterford: Conor Mulligan, Shane McPhillips (Aghabog), Cormac McNally, Patrick Lambe (Aughnamullen), Simon du Plessis, Eoin Brady (Ballybay), Conor Meehan, Joe O’Farrell (Carrickmacross), John Flanagan, Senan Hanratty, Padraic Carville, Daithi Kelly, Alfie Hughes, Daithi Funcheon (Castleblayney), Callum McGorman, Darragh McElvaney (Clones), Charlie Mone, Daniel Boylan, Stephen McSkeane, Jack Brady, Jack Sullivan (Clontibret), Killian Kearns, Aaron Smyth (Currin), Vinnie McManus, Cian McKenna, Daniel Coleman (Doohamlet), Andrew Stewart, Shay Cawley (Emyvale), Noah McGinty (Eire Og), Conor McKeown, Joseph McArdle, Shane O’Connor (Inniskeen), Josh Thompson, Oisin Lynch (Killeevan) Dylan Hughes, Caoimhin Farmer, Luke Mulligan (Latton), Conor Farrelly, Kevin Gainford, Oisin McConnon (Magheracloone), Mark Lynch, Eoin Sheridan, Rhys McCaffrey, Oran Doherty, Shea Corrigan, Shane McGarry (Monaghan Harps), Dylan Watters (Oram), Jamie Reilly (Rockcorry), Patrick Keenan, Ben Forde, Conor Kearns (Sean McDermotts), Eanna McCarey, Mark McCaffrey, Darcy Foy, Joe Foley (Scotstown), Callum Smyth, Shane Clerkin, Luke McKenna (Truagh), Diarmuid Hughes, Stanley Brimmage, Aaron Treanor (Tyholland)

U15 Squad vs Cavan, Louth & Donegal: Cian Greenan, Cian McMahon (Aghabog), Christopher Geoghegan (Aughnamullen), Tom Carey, Brion Sherry (Castleblayney), Matthew Carolan, Sean O’Brien, Odhran Maher (Carrickmacross), Michael McCaughey, Thomas Mulhall, James Bell Johnston, Jamie McCaughey, Caolain Clerkin (Clones), Luke Brennan, Fionnan Brennan, Nathan Coyle, Cailean Cawley (Clontibret), Ben Brennan, Shane Carragher, Jamie Mooney, Cormac Boyd, Darragh McMahon (Cremartin), Brian Duffy, Eoghan Comiskey, Conor Burns, Ronan Markey (Donaghmoyne), Mattie Duffy, Jamie Casey (Doohamlet), Tom Doherty (Drumhowan), Darragh Hughes, Luke Irwin, Michael McNally, Johnny Wright, Cormac McKenna (Emyvale), Mark Hanratty, Conor Jones (Inniskeen), Tomas Quinn, Sean O’Reilly, Padhraic Corrigan, Conor Burns (Killanny), Lee McQuillan, Evan Morris, Odhran Lennon (Latton), Gareth Gainford, Kai Duffy (Magheracloone), Jack Lynch, Ethan McCaffrey, Diarmuid McGinnity, John McCrystal (Monaghan Harps), Jamie Laverty, Jamie Watters (Oram), Max Maguire, Conal Gallagher, Jimmy McKenna, Sean Og McElwain (Scotstown), Conan McKenna, James McCabe (Sean McDermotts), Jamie McKenna, Oisin Hagan, Caolan McKenna, Sean O’Connell (Truagh), Callum Sheridan, Colin Sheridan (Tyholland) Caolan Mc Givern (Toome)

See below for a selection of photos from our Football Development Squads in 2021:

Our Sponsors