• GAA Healthy Clubs - Club recruitment is now open!

  • Win a Home in Lanzarote for just €75

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

DKIT into the final after a battling performance against Cork

November 21st, 2019

DKIT into the final after a battling performance against Cork


Senior Division 2 League Semi Final

Cork IT 2-14 Dundalk IT 4-11

After a slow start from DKIT where CIT looked extremely dangerous and tagged on a handful of scores early. DkIT scrambled back into the game with an excellent goal from Meath man Cathal Finnegan, where a flowing move started from an impressive diving turnover from Lorcan Smyth in his own full back line cutting out a diagonal ball set Eoghan Callaghan breaking down the field where he was flanked by Sam Mulroy and Rian O’Neill who played Cathal in where he finished hard and low past the keeper from 20 yards gave McConville’s men the spark they very much needed. CIT controlled the middle third which caused the DKIT men awful trouble as both sides went score for score up until 10 minutes before half time. Sloppy play from DKIT led to a killer blow as CIT rattled the net to put 3 between the teams. With Corks dominance in the middle they tagged on two more scores before the half time break to go in with a healthy lead of 1-10 to 1-5. Oisin and Shane had a big half time talk as their men looked to be struggling to get to grips with CIT men dominating the middle. They looked for a big powerful man from the bench in the shape of Monaghan man ‘The Icon’ Niall Kearns. With a reshuffle around the middle DKIT got a foot hold back in the game which settled them through their rough patch as Niall started to control the game as he won kick outs, hop balls and anything else CIT threw at him. DKIT started to claw back a few scores but once again sloppy play allowed CIT to build pressure and tag on scores to move 7 points away from DKIT. DKIT still felt they were in the game as they were getting chances but failing to put them away. Until one fell to Toome man James Wilson who breathe life into DKIT when he hit the back of the net. The next 5 minutes was all DKIT turnovers in their own defence as Hugh Osbourne, Kealan O’Neill and Eoghan Callaghan dispossessed CIT to set up attacks that would be the catalyst of the DKIT comeback. Once again, the stylish 40 yards man from Meath Cathal Finnegan hit the back of the net again under ferocious pressure as he stroked the ball in the top corner with the outside of his wand of a left foot to close the gap to a two-point game in his teams’ favour. When DKIT had a major loss of a black card to county man Sam Mulroy who was replaced by Sean McAvoy onlookers feared for the worst as CIT hit two scores in quick succession to level the game with normal time up. Cork them won a free with moments left 25 yards out from goal on the wrong side for a right footer which they missed. From the resulting kick out Niall Kearns caught the ball and DKIT broke in droves typical to their style all year, Down man Sean McAvoy played a one two with Conor Quigley who returned the hand pass to Sean who looked to be bottled up and as the ball dropped he struck it on the half volley where it hit the roof of the net to the joy of his team mates with only seconds remaining. This will be the 2nd league final in a row for Oisin and his men.

1. Chris McDermott – Clontibret

2. Mark Byrne – Rathkenny

3. Hugh Osbourne – Naomh Fionbarra

4. Conor Magennis – Killeavy

5. Shane Hamilton – Arva

6. Eoghan Callaghan – Naomh Martin

7. Kealan O’Neill – Glen Emmets

8. Rian O’Neill – Crossmaglen Rangers (0-1)

9. Eunan Walsh – St Marys Aghagallon (0-1)

10. Samuel Mulroy – Naomh Mairtin (0-6)

11. Cathal Finnegan – Seneschalstown (2-1)

12. Lorcan Smyth – Rockcorry

13. Rory Farrell – Ballieborough

14. Gary Mohan – Truagh (0-1)

15. James Wilson – Toome (1-1)

16. Matthew O’Reilly – Naomh Fionbarra

17. Oisin Martin – Silverbridge

18. Niall Kearns – Sean McDermott’s

19. Ross Nally – Newtown Blues

20. Jamie Campbell King – Corduff

21. Micheal Begley – Kilkerley Emmets

22. Ciaran McGlynn – Kilkerley Emmets

23. Sean McAvoy – Annaclone (1-0)

24. Conor Quigley – Kilkerley Emmets

25. Gavin Daly – Castlerahan

26. Darren Luckie – Culloville

27. Oisin O’Neill – Doohamlet

Our Sponsors