CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Previews (February 3)

February 3rd, 2019

Allianz National Football League Division One

Roscommon v Monaghan, Sunday, 2.30, Dr. Hyde Park


Monaghan will bid to build on their winning start to their Allianz NFL Division One campaign when they travel to Roscommon on Sunday.

Monaghan kicked off with a good win over Dublin last week, while FBD League winners Roscommon go into their first home fixture on the back of a one-point loss to neighbours Mayo. Monaghan won comfortably when the counties last met in 2017, but they needed a grandstand finish to take the points from their last visit to Roscommon 12 months previously.

Malachy O’Rourke has named a Monaghan team showing four changes from round one, with Dessie Ward, Neil McAdam, Gavin Doogan and Conor McCarthy coming in for Karl O’Connell, Shane Carey, Ryan McAnespie and David Garland. Barry McGinn joins Conor McManus and Stephen O’Hanlon in a subs list featuring plenty of attacking talent.

Roscommon will be relying on big performances on the three Dalys in defence, as well as the likes of Enda Smith, Shane Killoran, Cathal Cregg and Ciarán Lennon, in the absence of the suspended Dónie Smith.


Monaghan: Rory Beggan; Kieran Duffy, Conor Boyle, Ryan Wylie; Dessie Ward, Barry Kerr, Colin Walshe (Capt.); Darren Hughes, Neil McAdam; Fintan Kelly, Dermot Malone, Gavin Doogan; Conor McCarthy, Jack McCarron, Micheál Bannigan.

Subs: Shane Garland, Drew Wylie, Karl O’Connell, Vincent Corey, Dessie Mone, Shane Carey, Ryan McAnespie, David Garland, Conor McManus, Stephen O’Hanlon, Barry McGinn.


Allianz National Hurling League Division 3A

Roscommon v Monaghan, Sunday, 12.30, Dr. Hyde Park


It’s the opposite scenario for Sunday’s curtain-raiser at Dr. Hyde Park, where Roscommon have an opening-round win under their belts.

Monaghan hurling has been boosted recently by Castleblayney qualifying for the All-Ireland Club JHC Final, although that has a short-term knock-on effect on the county team’s prospects in the league. Monaghan missed out on qualifying for the final after a competitive Division 3A last year, including a draw with Roscommon, and they started the current campaign by losing to Armagh. Roscommon, meanwhile, got the better of Louth last Sunday.

There are three changes to the Monaghan team, with Kevin Crawley returning from suspension and Pádraig McGahon and Stephen Lambe also coming in, while Philip Brooks and Cathal McAnespie drop to the bench, with Luke McKenna missing out through suspension.

The absence of the Blayney contingent will increase Monaghan’s reliance on big performances from the likes of Crawley, Jamie Guinan, Martin Murphy and Éamonn Collins. Shane Curley, Gearóid Egan and Conor Mulry will provide major threats from Roscommon.


Monaghan: Niall Butler; Gareth Brennan, Jamie Guinan, Pearse McKenna; Oran Kiernan, Éamonn Collins, Conor McKenna; Conor Gernon, Kevin Crawley; Cathal Power, Pádraig McGahon, Nathan Farrell; Shane McNally, Taidhg Campbell, Stephen Lambe.

Subs: Cillian Sherry, Patrick Bermingham, Cathal McAnespie, Emmet Walsh, Paul Murphy, Dylan Mullholland, Trevor Hilliard  , Martin Murphy, Philip Brooks.


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division One

Westmeath v Monaghan, Sunday, 2.00, Mullingar


Elsewhere on Sunday, Monaghan’s senior ladies play their first league game under new manager Niall Treanor against Westmeath at St. Loman’s, Mullingar.

These teams both had to work hard to secure their Division One status last year, with one of Monaghan’s two league wins coming at the expense of Sunday’s hosts. Leanne Slevin, Maud-Ann Foley and Fiona Claffey could lead Westmeath’s challenge, while a new-look Monaghan team will need big performances from Cora Courtney, Aoife, Ciara and Eimear McAnespie and Muireann Atkinson.


Westmeath: K Walsh; R Dillon, J Rogers, L Power; F Coyle, K McDermott, F Claffey (Capt.); K Boyce-Jordan, V Carr; L McCartan, L Slevin, J Maher; S Dolan, A Jones, M.A. Foley.


Monaghan: A McCarey; L Flynn, S Coyle, H McSkane; N Kerr, A McAnespie, C Treanor; M Atkinson, R Courtney; A McCarey, C Courtney (Capt.), E McAnespie; E Woods, L Maguire, C McAnespie

Our Sponsors