CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Monaghan v Fermanagh Preview

June 19th, 2015

Ulster Senior Football Championship Semi-Final

Monaghan v Fermanagh, Sunday, 4.00, Kingspan Breffni Park


Monaghan bid for an Ulster SFC Final place when they return to Cavan for Sunday’s semi-final against Fermanagh.

Both of these teams enjoyed good campaigns in this year’s Allianz National Football League, with Monaghan reaching the Division One semi-finals and Fermanagh going six games unbeaten on their way to securing promotion to Division Two, before losing the Division Three Final to Armagh. Monaghan edged out Cavan by a point in their championship opener at Sunday’s venue, while Fermanagh eventually pulled away from Antrim for a first Ulster SFC win since 2010, when their campaign was ended by Monaghan in a semi-final at Breffni Park. Fermanagh’s last championship win over Monaghan was masterminded by Malachy O’Rourke on their way to the 2008 provincial final, where they fell just short against Armagh.

Monaghan are without full-back Drew Wylie, who suffered cruciate-ligament damage playing for Ballybay in a recent club game, with his place going to Colin Walshe, who is set to make his first start for the county team after a long lay-off with his own knee injury. Monaghan will be looking for big performances from experienced players such as Conor McManus, Paul Finlay, Darren and Kieran Hughes and Dessie Mone, while the bench also features seasoned campaigners like Dick Clerkin, Owen Lennon and Stephen Gollogly.

Fermanagh have made two changes, with goalkeeper Thomas Treacy and Darren McQuade in for Chris Snow and James McMahon. Eoin Donnelly is also thought to be fit to return, but is being kept in reserve as per the team named by Pete McGrath. Seán Quigley, the highest scorer in all four divisions of the NFL, has been in prolific form all year for Fermanagh with a total of 8-68, while Tomás and Ruairí Corrigan, Barry Mulrone and influential midfielder Ryan Jones are also capable of chipping in and the experienced Ryan McCluskey overcomes an injury concern to again anchor the defence.

A place in a third consecutive Ulster final – a feat last achieved in the 1920s – is the prize on offer for Monaghan.



Monaghan: Rory Beggan; Colin Walshe, Fintan Kelly, Ryan Wylie; Dessie Mone, Vincent Corey, Karl O’Connell; Neil McAdam, Darren Hughes; Ryan McAnespie, Kieran Hughes, Shane Carey; Paul Finlay, Dermot Malone, Conor McManus (Capt.).

Subs: Cian Mohan, Kieran Duffy, Conor Boyle, Paudie McKenna, Thomas Kerr, Owen Lennon, Dick Clerkin, Stephen Gollogly, Owen Duffy, Paul Meegan, Christopher McGuinness.


Fermanagh: Thomas Treacy; Michael Jones, Niall Cassidy, Marty O’Brien; Declan McCusker, Ryan McCluskey, Barry Mulrone; Ryan Jones, Richard O’Callaghan; Darren McQuade, Ciarán Flaherty, Paul McCusker; Tomás Corrigan, Seán Quigley, Ruairí Corrigan.

Our Sponsors