• Lá na gClub Leaderboard

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Ladies News

October 10th, 2011


There was some consolation for Monaghan when the All Star nominations for 2011 were announced. With 10 nominations in total, Monaghan topped the list receiving 10 nominations,  with Dublin next on 9 and Cork receiving 8. This reflects the excellent performances Monaghan have put in all year and should give the team great confidence looking ahead to 2012.The 10 nominees for Monaghan are Christine Reilly, Sharon Courtney, Grainne Mc Nally, Aoife Mc Anespie, Amanda Casey, Cora Courtney, Therese Mc Nally, Catriona Mc Connell, Ciara Mc Anesie and Caoimhe Mohan, The All Stars will be announced on November 12th at a reception in the City West. On behalf of Monaghan Co Board we wish all the nominees the very best of luck, and let’s hope we can come home with some well deserved All Star Awards.


The full list of nominees are as follows:



Irene Munnelly (Meath), Ciamh Dollard (Laois), Mary Rose Kelly (Wexford)

Full Back Line

Gráinne McNally (Monaghan), Sinéad Goldrick (Dublin), Angela Walsh (Cork), Sharon Courtney (Monaghan), Aishling Leonard (Kerry), Gráinne Dunne (Laois), Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork), Christina Reilly (Monaghan), Gráinne O’Malley (Dublin)

Half Back Line

Briege Corkery (Cork), Gemma Fay (Dublin), Fiona Mahon (Meath), Bríd Stack (Cork), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork), Aoife McAnespie (Monaghan), Aisling Holton (Kildare), Alison Taylor (Laois), Sorcha Furlong (Dublin)


Juliet Murphy (Cork), Tracy Lawlor (Laois), Lorraine Scanlon (Kerry), Denise Masterson (Dublin), Cora Courtney (Monaghan), Amanda Casey (Monaghan)

Half Forwards

Therese McNally (Monaghan), Noelle Healy (Dublin), Mary Kirwan (Laois), Lyndsey Davey (Dublin), Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh), Catriona McConnell (Monaghan), Martina Dunne (Laois), Elaine Kelly (Dublin), Margaret O’Donoghue (Kerry)

Full Forwards

Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan), Sinéad Aherne (Dublin), Amy O’Shea (Cork), Sarah Houlihan (Kerry), Aine Tighe (Leitrim), Caoimhe Mohan (Monaghan), Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry), Rhona Ní Bhuachalla (Cork), Aisling Doonan (Cavan)



This weekend sees Donaghmoyne and Inniskeen fly the flag for Monaghan in Ulster. First up are Inniskeen who play Cloughaneely on Saturday at 3pm. This is a home game for the Inniskeen girls. Their last game against the Fermanagh champions was a closely fought contest, with Fiona Callan saving a penalty in the dying minutes of the game. If Inniskeen play to their potential, they will be hard to beat.

On Sunday, Donaghmoyne travel to Lurgan to take on Armagh champions Clann Eireann. Donaghmoyne had a comfortable win over the Antrim champions in the last round, whereas Clann Eireann had to go to extra time to overcome Tyrone champions St Macartans. Both sides have met on a number of occasions before in Ulster, with Clann Eireann pushing Donaghmoyne very close. But like Inniskeen, if Donaghmoyne play to their full potential they will prove very difficult  to beat.

On behalf of the county board, we wish both teams the very best of luck.

U16 League final replay      –       D1- 15 aside

Donaghmoyne   8-6     Scotstown     2-3

When the sides finished  all square in the final played back in September, it was set for anybody’s game in the replay, indeed the sides could not be separated in the first half of the replay, with both teams scoring 2-3 in the opening half, as the second half emerged Donaghmoyne’s management made some positional changes in the middle of the park while also  introducing sub Michaela Mc Skeane, this made a big difference to the game, Donaghmoyne now controlled the centre of the field  with Niamh Callan making surging runs from the back through the middle taking the game to Sotstown, she also had great help from Aine Mc Elroy, Chloe Woods and Roisin Finnegan while at the back Sinead Murray controlled the centre with help from Amy Finn and Michaela Mc Skeane, Scotstown continued to advance with Laura Carey and Casey Treanor trying hard but in the end Donaghmoyne ran out winners and their JT Captains Megan Mc Geough and Alanah McElroy collecting the Monaghan Electric Cup from Alice Mc Mahon Co Board

Donaghmoyne: Niamh Markey, Amy Finn, Alanah Mc Elroy, Cathy Deery, Siobhan Keenan, Sinead Murray, Nicole Keenan, Aine Mc Elroy, Roisin Finnegan, Ellen Tibby, Niamh Callan, Laura Mc Mahon, Rosemary Courtney, Chloe Woods, Megan Mc Geough. Subs used…Michaela Mc Skeane, Louise Kearney, Lauren Mc Crossan, Emma Keenan, Lorraine Donaghy.

Scotstown:     Alanna Mc Carey, Orla King, Laura Brady, Laura Kilpatrick, Fionnaula  Caulifield, Laura Bryne, Francis Connolly-Hughes, Laura Carey, Casey Treanor, Eimear Mc Kenna, Orla Treanor, Megan Ward, Andrea Beggan, Orlaigh Smyth, Derbhla Sherry.



Doohamlet 2-5   Carrickmacross 1-6

Doohamlet finished off their year in style winning the development league final. Once again their opponents were Carrick and like other games they have played this year it was a closely fought contest. Credit to both teams who have been building their senior teams this year, and who have played some great exciting football in their finals this year. It is great to see the rewards of all the development work that has been going on in both clubs.


Development League Final

Carrickmacross  1-6  Doohamlet 2-5

U16 Division 1 final replay

Donaghmoyne 8-6   Scotstown 2-3

Division 2 Summer League Semi Final

Corduff 4-3   Seans 1-7



Senior championship – Sunday 16th October @ 2pm

Clann Eireann  V  Donaghmoyne

Junior championship – Saturday 15th October @ 3pm

Inniskeen V Cloughaneely

Division 2 league – Sunday 16th October @ 12 o clock

Aghabog  V  Magheracloone

Division 3 play off – Sunday 16th October @ 12 o clock

Latton  V  Aughnamullen


Minor Division 2 – Saturday 15th October @ 5pm

Carrickmacross  V   Emyvale


Hard luck to Cavan and New York who lost out in Croke Park on Sunday last. Special mention to Catriona Brady who played her heart out for New York. Unfortunately, like the Monaghan girls 2 weeks ago, luck just wasn’t on her side, but knowing Catriona, she will be back.


Delegates meeting on Monday night next 17th October @ 9pm.  All clubs requested to attend


Our Sponsors