CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Inniskeen Capture Mc Keown Cup

June 10th, 2018

Inniskeen Capture Mc Keown Cup


Inniskeen 3-11, Oram 1-10.

Inniskeen staged a strong final quarter in which they outscored Oram by 2-3 to 0-2 to clinch the McKeown Cup title but up until that late surge in a well contested final they were pushed all the way by a battling Oram side who got off to much the better start and stayed in touch during the 3rdquarter before Inniskeen pulled away. Oram had 5 points on the board before Inniskeen opened their account after 10 minutes with the sides then going in level at half-time 1-6 apiece. Oram edged in front 4 minutes after the resumption with Inniskeen drawing level and it was then Oram’s turn to draw level after Inniskeen had taken the lead for the 1st time in the 11th minute. Entering the final quarter a goal by Ciaran McNulty kick started a strong period for Inniskeen with Aidan Woods adding 2 points to put them 5 in front and while Oram got the margin down to 2, thanks to the accuracy of Jason McDonald, who was one of their top performers on the day, Inniskeen struck late and decisively for a match clinching goal by Tadhg Campbell with 3 minutes of normal time remaining. In what had been a well contested game tempers boiled over somewhat in the final minutes and into stoppage time which resulted in the referee dismissing Oram’s Rory Murphy  and Inniskeen’s Christopher Hanratty.

Teams and Scorers: Inniskeen: Padraig Garland, Seamus Kindlon 0-1, Joe Butler, Christopher Hanratty 1-1, Jason Woods, Jamie Dooley, Cormac Boylan, Harry Monaghan 0-1, Stephen Callan, Ciaran McNulty 1-2, Trevor Hilliard, Peter Boylan 0-1, Peter Dooley, TJ Byrne, Aidan Woods 0-5 (4f). Subs: Padraig McGahon for P Dooley, Tadhg Campbell 1-0 for J Dooley, Niall Butler for S. Callan(Black Card) Peter Dooley for TJ Byrne (Black Card).

Oram: Kevin Irwin, Tiernach O’Neill, Christopher McGuinness, Eoghan McNally, Darren Kavanagh, Stephen McBride, Turlough Fitzsimons, Cathal Crowe, Rory Murphy, Danny Lynch, 0-2, Sean Graham 0-1, Gavin Fox, 1-0, Jason McDonald 0-7 (4f, 1’45), Ryan Davis, John Mone. Subs: Mattie Leonard for C Crowe.       Referee: Brian Finnegan (Blackhill).

Our Sponsors