CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Truagh send Clontibret Packing from the Championship

September 2nd, 2017

Truagh send Clontibret Packing from the Championship


Truagh 2-11, Clontibret 1-13.

A sharper, hungrier Truagh got their championship aspirations back on track with this narrow, yet deserved victory over Clontibret in this keenly contested qualifier game that built to an electric finish in Emyvale. Truagh were only headed once in the entire contest and that approaching the half way mark in the second-half but they finished strongly with a 2nd goal from Ryan Mohan putting them back in front and they held out for victory in an exciting finish. Truagh started well and had 1-3 on the board before Clontibret opened their account in the 11th minute but by half-time the sides were level, Clontibret hitting 2 late points to send the sides in deadlocked at the break. It was a seesaw affair throughout the second-half with a goal by MP O’Dowd putting Clontibret in front for the only time in the game approaching the end of the 3rd quarter but Truagh got back on level terms and then hit the front again through Aaron Treanor to help seal a memorable victory.

Teams and Scorers: Truagh: Martin Treanor, Niall McQuillan, Eoghan Kelly, John McCarron, Niall Coyle 0-1, Rory Treanor, Niall Feely 0-1, Pauric Treanor, Ryan Mohan 1-0, Christopher McAnenly 1-2, Christopher McKenna 0-2 (2f), James McKenna 0-1, Aaron Treanor, Padraig McKenna 0-3 (2f), Aaron Mohan 0-1. Subs: Colm McRory for D Treanor, Niall Rooney for A Mohan, Daniel Finnegan for C McKenna, John Treanor for N Coyle, Niall McMeel for C McAnenly, Darren Todd for P McKenna (Black Card).

Clontibret: Darren McDonnell, Donal Carragher, Brian Greenan, Conor Boyle 0-1, Killian Lavelle, Vincent Corey, Dessie Mone 0-2, Colm Greenan, Liam Savage, Pauric Boyle, Ryan McGuigan 0-3 (1f), Kieran Greenan, Rodney Gorman 0-1, Conor McManus 0-5 (5f), MP O’Dowd 1-1. Subs: Francis Hughes for K Greenan, Conor Doyle for R Gorman, Declan Savage for L Savage, Jack Gormley for D Carragher. Referee: Pat McEnaney (Corduff).

Our Sponsors