• GAA Season Ticket 2023

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website


October 4th, 2022

Under 13 Championship Final
Clones were crowned Division 3 champions last Saturday after a thrilling clash
with Aghabog in Smithborough. Clones were 5 points to the good at half time
thanks to goals from Matthew McCaughey and Eoin McElvaney. It was taking
some resolute defending to keep the strong Aghabog attack at bay.
The second half was a real see-saw affair with Aghabog taking a four point lead with 10
minutes remaining. 3 St Tiarnach’s goals from Conor Butler, Eoin McElvaney and
Finian Murphy were the vital scores and Clones took the victory on a 5-09 to 4-11
scoreline. Team captain Donncha Quigley accepted the cup on behalf of the panel
and management and thanked Aghabog for a brilliant, sporting game.
Clones had stars throughout, with Christian McGarry solid in goals. Brendan Sheerin, Finian
Murphy and Ciarán McCaughey defended tenaciously while Donncha Quigley
played a real leader’s role in defence. Matthew McCaughey and Paddy McDonald
battled throughout at midfield and got great support from Finn Connolly and the
strong-running Conal Cosgrove in the half forward line. Eoin McElvaney terrorised
the Aghabog defence with Conor Butler and Oran Clerkin also threatening.
This victory was just rewards for this group of players who were defeated only once(in
the league final) all season. They trained particularly hard for the championship
and every player contributed at different stages over the campaign. These boys
were a credit to their families and club.
Their management of Donal Quigley, Larry
Butler, Fabian Beggan and Gerry Reihill were proud men as the trophy was
brought back to town and into the Creighton Hotel for well-earned refreshments.
Many thanks to physio Michéal Treanor for his assistance on the day.
For the record, the winning panel was:
Christian McGarry, Brendan Sheerin, Ciarán McCaughey, Donncha Quigley, Finian
Murphy, Paddy McDonald, Matthew McCaughey, Conal Cosgrove, Finn
Connolly.Conor Butler, Eoin McElvaney, Oran Clerkin, Ewan Connolly Daragh
McKenna, Diarmuid Quigley, Adam Dunwoody, Martin Mulhall, Dylan McDermott,
Jay McDonald-McCormick, Lewis McGorman

Our Sponsors