• Buy your GAA 2020 season ticket today

  • Investec - An experienced player in the market

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website


February 26th, 2019

Harps Handball Success
Congratulations to our 3 new Ulster champions Tiarnán O’Rourke, Deivydas Kaklauskas and Eoghan McGinnity and best wishes in the forthcoming All-Ireland series.

It was a case of oh-so-close for Emily McGinnity, Seán Callan and Aidan McGeough who all suffered the agony of defeat in a tiebreak. Emily surprised many by winning game two against Laura Duff from Tyrone and she led 10-6 in the tiebreak. A victory was possible but a change of serve from Laura made up the deficit and victory on the score of 15-9. A great performance from Emily.

Next up was our U13 doubles pairing of Oisín McGeown and Matas Sakalauskas. While Oisín played well the Tyrone opposition had a star player who controlled every aspect of a one-sided final. It was heartbreak for Seán Callan in the U14 singles final. He won game one with a fine display and nearly took game two. However a severe shoulder injury put paid to any chance of winning the tiebreak.

Another tiebreak loss followed in the u15 singles. There is no doubt that Aidan McGeough had victory in sight with a fine early display of handball brilliance. However, as often happens, a weaker opponent can produce a dogged performance to force errors from an opponent. This is exactly what happened.

The U16 doubles pairing of Aidan Cunningham and Szymon Polewski put in a very brave performance against a very strong Tyrone pairing. There can be no doubt that the latter pairing is capable of winning the All-Ireland title. And their winning display was proof of this.

Our first Ulster win came from the mercurial display of Tiarnán O’Rourke in U16 singles. This was a fully deserved victory for the Monaghan player.
Louise McGinnity put in a superb performance over two close games against Tyrone champion Clodagh Monroe who won in straight games.

Our next title came in U17 singles with a tiebreak win for Deivydas Kaklauskas.

Finally well done to Eoghan Mc Ginnity on winning easily the Ulster Minor title.

Best wishes to Calum Sherry, Ernesta Marut and Niamh McElwain on March 2nd in the National Primary schools finals in Kingscourt.