CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Scotstown Overcome Burren

November 4th, 2018

Scotstown Overcome Burren


Scotstown (Monaghan) 0-13, Burren (Down) 0-10.

Scotstown are through to the semi-final of the Ulster senior club championship, but they had to call on all their resources of character and commitment to hold out against Burren in a game that built to an electrifying finish in Newry yesterday.

Scotstown dominated the exchanges in the first half and led at half time by 0-6 to 0-3 but by then they could have been out of sight but for 13 wides, two from frees, and spurning a clear cut goal chance.

Scotstown started the second-half well and reeled off four unanswered points in the opening ten minutes to open a seven points lead, but from there to the finish they came under increasing pressure from a resurgent Burren, who gradually chipped away at their lead especially Donal O’Hare from frees, to bring it down to the minimum with three minutes of normal time remaining. Scotstown weathered the storm and broke for match-winning points from Shane Carey and Donal Morgan to clinch victory. Burren finished the game with fourteen players following the dismissal of David McEntee in stoppage time.

Teams and scorers: Scotstown: Rory Beggan 0-2 (1f), Damien McArdle, Emmet Caulfield, Jack McDevitt; Ryan O’Toole, Donal Morgan 0-1, Brendan Boylan; Frank Caulfield, Darren Hughes; Jamie McCarey, Kieran Hughes 0-2, Shane Carey 0-5, (2f); Francis Maguire 0-2, Conor McCarthy 0-1 (f), Orin Heaphey. Subs used: Ross McKenna for O Heaphey (HT),Paul Sherlock for K Hughes (Black Card 45), Dermot McCrudden for F Maguire (56), Micheál McCarville for B Boylan (60+2).

Burren: Cathal Murdock; Steven Fegan, Kevin McKernan, Ardan McAvoy; Conaill McGovern, Shay McArdle, Conor Cox; Declan Rooney, Conor Toner; Cathal Foy 0-2, Padraig Poland, Ronan McGrath; Liam Kerr, Eamonn Toner 0-1, Donal O’Hare 0-5 (5f). Subs used: Cillian Burns for C Murdock (HT) David McEntee for C Cox (HT), Ryan Treanor 0-1 (f) for P Poland (39), Malachy McEvoy for L Kerr (39), Sean Murdock 0-1 for R McGrath (44), Peter Fegan for C Toner (60 +2). Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone)

Our Sponsors