CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

SFC four-in-a-row for Scotstown

October 8th, 2018

SFC four-in-a-row for Scotstown

Greenfield Foods Senior Football Championship Final

Scotstown 1-13 Ballybay 0-13                                   7/10/18


Scotstown won their fourth consecutive SFC title when they held off challengers Ballybay in front of a crowd of almost 4,500 in Clones on Sunday. A Conor McCarthy goal proved decisive as Scotstown just had enough in the tank to win their fifth county title in six years against a Ballybay side that failed to take several chances to find the net.

McCarthy was joined by fellow county men Kieran and Darren Hughes, Rory Beggan and Shane Carey in making important contributions for Scotstown, while the best efforts of the likes of Dessie Ward, Thomas Kerr and Shane McGuinness couldn’t get Ballybay over the line.

Scotstown will face Fermanagh champions Derrygonnelly in the Ulster Club SFC preliminary round in two weeks’ time.



Scotstown: R Beggan (0-2f); R O’Toole, D McArdle, D Morgan (0-1); E Caulfield, P Sherlock, J McDevitt; F Caulfield, D Hughes (Capt.); J McCarey (0-1), K Hughes (0-1), S Carey (0-3, 2f); O Heaphey, C McCarthy (1-3, 0-2f), F Maguire (0-2).

Subs: R McKenna for F Caulfield (inj., 47), F McPhillips for E Caulfield (inj., 49), M McCarville for Maguire (59), B Boylan for Sherlock (inj., 60 + 4), K McMeel for Morgan (60 + 8).


Ballybay: B McCabe; B Wylie (0-1), R Wylie, E McKearney; C Lennon, D Wylie, M McArdle (0-1); C Galligan, T O’Neill; A Toner (0-1), S McGuinness (0-2), T Kerr (0-1); P Finlay (Capt., 0-3, 2f), C McGuinness, D Ward (0-4).

Subs: M Hannon for Galligan, S McQuillan for O’Neill (both 39), A Dixon for McArdle (black card, 53).


Referee: A Marron (Corduff).


Our Sponsors