• Monaghan Easter Camp

  • Investec - An experienced player in the market

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

Magheracloone Secure Division 1 League Title

September 12th, 2018

Magheracloone Secure Division 1 League Title


Magheracloone 2-12, Aughnamullen 0-13.

A more forceful Magheracloone made no mistake at the 2nd attempt to clinch the Connolly Meats minor football league division 1 cup title at the expense of Aughnamullen in another hugely entertaining contest that was played in excellent conditions under lights in Inniskeen on Wednesday evening.

Magheracloone got off to a scintillating start to hit 2-2 in the opening 8 minutes against a single point from Aughnamullen and that was a situation that the Sarsfields were chasing for the remainder of the game. Those 2 goals helped Magheracloone to a 6 points half-time lead with the best that Aughnamullen could achieve in the second-half was reducing the margin to 5 on a number of occasions, but each time Magheracloone could respond to retake a 6 points lead. Aughnamullen’s cause was not helped either by the fact that they failed to convert a penalty some 10 minutes into the 2ndhalf and try as they might they were denied a goal by a combination of the woodwork on a couple of occasions, some last-ditch defending by Magheracloone and good work by the Mitchells keeper to help them clinch the title with 5 points to spare.

Teams and Scorers: Magheracloone: Oisin Babbington, David McArdle, Jack Doogan, Shane Burns, Ciaran McMahon, Conor McKeown, Joe Kirk 0-1, Ryan Farrelly 0-2 (1f), Liam Og Murray 0-1, Daniel McCahey 1-0, David Martin, Ronan McKeown, Ryan McNulty 1-6 (0-1f), Jonathan Donnelly, Dylan McCahey 0-1. Subs: Dylan Byrne 0-1 for R Farrelly, Ryan Farrelly for D Martin, Daniel McConnon for C McNally.

Aughnamullen: Ryan Johnston, Liam Duffy, Oisin Hamill, Shay Duffy, Kieran Marron, Shane Forde 0-1, Sean Hamill, Kieran Duffy, Tiernan Duffy 0-4 (2f), Tristan Keenan, Darren Geoghegan 0-2, Aaron McGee, Jason Duffy 0-1 (f), Joel Wilson 0-2, Ryan Connolly 0-3. Subs: Aaron Hamilton for T Keenan, Martin Sheridan for R Connolly, Gavin Bannigan for A McGee.                                               Referee: Sean Ward (Inniskeen).


Our Sponsors