• Monaghan Easter Camp

  • Investec - An experienced player in the market

CLG Mhuineacháin - Official Monaghan GAA Website

SFC Round 4 Qualifier Preview

July 8th, 2018

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers Round 4

Laois v Monaghan, Sunday, 2.00, Navan


Monaghan are on the road once more this Sunday for their All-Ireland SFC Round 4 Qualifier against Laois at Páirc Tailteann.

Having beaten Tyrone in the Ulster quarter-finals, Monaghan then lost to Fermanagh, but they got their championship campaign back on track with comfortable wins away to Waterford and Leitrim. Allianz NFL Division Four winners Laois added wins over Westmeath, Wexford and Carlow to make it ten on the spin and book a Leinster SFC Final place, although Dublin proved too strong last time out.

Monaghan lost to Laois in the Qualifiers in 2012 – the counties’ only championship meeting to date – although they did win the last clash with the O’Moore County in the 2014 Allianz NFL.

Malachy O’Rourke has named a Monaghan team showing one change from Round 3, with Jack McCarron returning to the attack in place of Thomas Kerr. Laois show two changes from the Dublin game, with Brian Glynn and Ross Munnelly coming in for Finbarr Crowley and Niall Donoher.

Monaghan will be looking for Conor McManus, Rory Beggan, Karl O’Connell, Fintan Kelly and Ryan McAnespie to lead the way, while Laois will need big performances from the likes of Dónie and Paul Kingston, Colm Begley, John O’Loughlin and Evan O’Carroll.


Laois: Graham Brody; Damien O’Connor, Mark Timmons, Gareth Dillon; Trevor Collins, Colm Begley, Darren Strong; John O’Loughlin, Kieran Lillis; Alan Farrell, Paul Kingston, Brian Glynn; Ross Munnelly, Dónie Kingston, Evan O’Carroll.


Monaghan: Rory Beggan; Kieran Duffy, Conor Boyle, Ryan Wylie; Dessie Ward, Colin Walshe (Capt.), Karl O’Connell; Niall Kearns, Darren Hughes; Ryan McAnespie, Dermot Malone, Fintan Kelly; Conor McCarthy, Jack McCarron, Conor McManus.

Subs: Conor Forde, Drew Wylie, Barry Kerr, Dessie Mone, Neil McAdam, Paudie McKenna, Vincent Corey, Owen Duffy, Kieran Hughes, David Garland, Shane Carey.

Our Sponsors