Rockcorry win with 14

July 15th, 2017 | Headline, Match Report, Monaghan Club Games, News


Rockcorry 1-16, Killeevan 1-13.

Despite fielding short a number of regulars, a more experienced and streetwise Rockcorry held out for victory in this closely contested and entertaining if never spectacular contest that was played in greasy conditions in Smithboro on Friday evening last. In any analysis of the outcome of this game though, Killeevan, who also fielded short a number of regulars, will have to look at how they contrived to cause problems for themselves, first of all by failing to win more possession in midfield and then seeing hard won possession squandered with players taking the wrong option at vital times particularly in attack when scores were there for the taking. The sides were level at half-time, the 8th time that matters were even in a closely contested 1st half, Killeevan playing catch up on seven of those occasion. Killeevan opened a 2 points lead in the early minutes of the second-half but were then hit with a Rockcorry goal and they found themselves playing catch up again on a number of occasions in the 3rd quarter before a goal by Ciaran Burns brought the sides level with 15 minutes of normal time remaining. It was now that the greater experience of Rockcorry was seen to good effect, even when they were reduced to 14 players as they picked off 3 valuable points, one from a free but more importantly recycled possession very effectively to run down the clock as they held out for what was overall a deserved victory.

Teams and Scorers: Rockcorry: Anthony Tate, Cathal Sheridan 0-2, Keelan Clerkin, Colin Quinn, Conor McGeough, Niall McKeown, Gareth Smyth, Martin Carroll 0-2, Mark Thornton 0-1, Caolain Gallagher 0-1, Andrew McPhillips, Aaron O’Gorman 0-4 (1f), Keith Daly 0-1, Noel Carroll 1-3, Mark McGuirk 0-1 (f). Subs: Killian Thornton for C Gallagher, Dwayne Rooney for M McGuirk.

Killeevan: Adam Langan, Martin McPhillips, Ciaran Corr, Ciaran McGinn, Maitiu MacUaid, Ian McConnon, Joshua Graham, Ryan Tierney, Colin Quigley 0-1, Killian Mooney 0-1, Ciaran Burns 1-0, Ciaran Smith, Eddie McGinn, Kevin McGinn 0-5, Noel Smith 0-7 (3f). Subs: Noel McConnon for E McGinn, Lorcan Kilpatrick for C Smith, Gerard Hughes for M MacUaid, John McGuirk for C Mooney, Michael Smith for J Graham (Black Card). Referee: Brendan Walshe (Ballybay).


Find us online

Sponsors of Monaghan GAA

  • Silver Hill Foods
  • Combilift
  • Manor Farm
  • Marrons Garage
  • GR8 Entertainment
  • Four Season Monaghan
  • Celtic Pure Water
  • Mallons Butchers
  • Acorn Life
  • Eurotech
  • Gerrys Prepared Veg
  • Greenfield Foods
  • Investec
  • Maguire Transport
  • McAree Engineering
  • McElvaneys Recycling
  • Monaghan County Council
  • Monaghan Electrical
  • Northern Standard
  • O'Neills
  • Universal Graphics
  • Platinum Tanks